biomass magazine - january 2009

Download Biomass Magazine - January 2009

Post on 12-Mar-2016

217 views

Category:

Documents

3 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

January 2009 Biomass Magazine

TRANSCRIPT

  • INSIDE: SUSTAINABILITY A HOT TOPIC AT WORLD BIOFUELS SYMPOSIUM

    January 2009

    www.BiomassMagazine.com

    Torontos Waste Reduction Regimen

    Canadas Largest City is Redirecting Organic Waste, Saving on Landfill Space

  • FOR BIOMASS POWER,

    Were working to expand the use of clean,green biomass power.

    Formerly known as USA Biomass, were advocating for the tax and regulatorypolicies that will help our industry grow, and educating state and federal law-makers about biomass powers vital role in reducing climate change, cleaningthe environment, creating jobs and boosting local economies.

    Our members include the owners and operators of 80 biomass facilitiesin 16 states, along with suppliers, plant developers and financial institutions.

    Help us show America the way to a clean, independent energy future.

    Join us at biomasspowerassociation.com.

    THE SKYS THE LIMIT.

  • N

    ovozymes A

    /S Custom

    er Com

    munications N

    o. 2007-35469-02

    Novozymes North America, Inc.77 Perry Chapel Church Road Franklinton, NC 27525 Tel. +1 919-494-3000 Fax +1 919-494-3485biomass@novozymes.com www .novozymes.com

    Transforming corn and other grains into biofuels is a major industry

    today . But what about tomorrow? The future of biofuels will

    also rely on the next generation of raw materials biomass. At

    Novozymes were taking a fresh look at all types of biomass, and

    considering how we can turn it into something useful. And you

    know what? Corn cobs and wheat straw are just the beginning.

    Who knows what other types of waste we can transform into fuel?

    The future of fuel

    Novozymes is the world leader in bioinnovation.

    Together with customers across a broad array of

    industries we create tomorrow s industrial bio-

    solutions, improving our customers business and

    the use of our planet s resources. Read more at

    www .novozymes.com.

  • 4 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 1|2009

  • 1|2009 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 5

    INSIDE JANUARY 2009 VOLUME 3 ISSUE 1

    FEATURES. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    22 INNOVATION Emissions Eliminator Eisenmann Corp. is preparing its wet electrostatic precipitator, WESP-F2, for its commercial debut. The emissions technology is designed for stringent multipollutant applications such as biomass boiler systems. By Anna Austin

    28 TECHNOLOGY Craving Corn and the CobEthanol producers and equipment manufacturers are working together to produce more energy from an acre of corn. Biomass Magazine examines the different prototypes developed by equipment manufacturers to harvest corn and the cobs. By Ryan C. Christiansen

    34 ANAEROBIC DIGESTION Go Green Pronto, Toronto Canadas largest city plans to divert millions of tons of organic matter from going into the landfi ll. The project will involve the use of anaerobic digestion and BTA technology.By Ron Kotrba

    40 INDUSTRY Size Matters Should biomass power plants be large and centrally located, or small and spread out across a region? Two experts weigh in on this important issue. By Anna Austin

    44 EVENT A World of Potential The 4th World Biofuels Symposium held recently in China revealed a growing global demand for biofuels. Sustainability will play an important role in that development. By Travis Hochard

    50 PROCESS Producing the Next Generation of Green HydrocarbonsAs demand for petroleum fuels increases, companies like Ensyn Technologies Inc. and its biomass-to-liquid technology are making the promise of green energy a reality.By Heidi Vincent

    TECHNOLOGY | PAGE 28

    DEPARTMENTS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    07 Advertiser Index

    08 Editors NoteDisaster Debris Shouldnt Be a ProblemBy Rona Johnson

    10 CITIES Corner

    The Sweet Smell of Anaerobic Digestion By Tim Portz

    11 Legal Perspectives Managing Contractual Relationships in a Turbulent EconomyBy John Eustermann

    13 Industry Events

    14 Business Briefs

    16 Industry News

    55 EERC UpdateSustainability of Biofuels:A Glimpse at the Magnitude of Fuel Consumption, Agricultural ProductionBy Brad Stevens

    56 Marketplace

  • I
  • 1|2009 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 7

    advertiserINDEX

    2009 Biomass Conference & Expo 58 & 59

    2009 Canadian Renewable Energy Workshop 27

    2009 Fuel Ethanol Workshop 38

    2009 National Ethanol Conference 48

    2009 RETECH Conference 6

    BBI International Community Initiative To 33Improve Energy Sustainability (CITIES)

    BBI Biofuels Recruiting 53

    BBI Engineering & Consulting 9 & 30

    Bioenergy Australasia Magazine 49

    Bioenergy Canada Magazine 39

    Biomass Power Association 2

    Christianson & Associates PLLP 52

    Clean Energy Resource Teams 47

    Continental Biomass Industries 4

    Ethanol Producer Magazine 57

    www.ethanol-jobs.com 54

    Jansen Combustion & Boiler Technologies Inc. 37

    Maas Companies 31

    Novozymes 3

    Price BIOstock Services 24

    R.C. Costello & Associates Inc. 25

    Robert-James Sales Inc. 60

    Vecoplan 12

    EDITORIAL

    MANAGING EDITOR Jessica Sobolik jsobolik@bbiinternational.com

    CONTRIBUTIONS EDITOR Dave Nilles dnilles@bbiinternational.com

    FEATURES EDITOR Rona Johnson rjohnson@bbiinternational.com

    SENIOR STAFF WRITER Ron Kotrba rkotrba@bbiinternational.com

    STAFF WRITERSJerry W. Kram jkram@bbiinternational.comSusanne Retka Schill sretkaschill@bbiinternational.comKris Bevill kbevill@bbiinternational.com Erin Voegele evoegele@bbiinternational.comAnna Austin aaustin@bbiinternational.comRyan C. Christiansen rchristiansen@bbiinternational.com

    STAFF WRITER & PLANT LIST MANAGERBryan Sims bsims@bbiinternational.com

    ONLINE EDITOR Hope Deutscher hdeutscher@bbiinternational.com

    COPY EDITOR Jan Tellmann jtellmann@bbiinternational.com

    E-MEDIA COORDINATORMegan Skauge mskauge@bbiinternational.com

    ART

    ART DIRECTOR Jaci Satterlund jsatterlund@bbiinternational.com

    GRAPHIC DESIGNERSElizabeth Slavens bslavens@bbiinternational.comSam Melquist smelquist@bbiinternational.comJack Sitter jsitter@bbiinternational.com

    PUBLISHING & SALES

    PUBLISHER & CEO Mike Bryan mbryan@bbiinternational.com

    PUBLISHER & PRESIDENT Kathy Bryan kbryan@bbiinternational.com

    VICE PRESIDENT OF MEDIA & EVENTS Joe Bryan jbryan@bbiinternational.com

    VICE PRESIDENT OF COMMUNICATIONS Tom Bryan tbryan@bbiinternational.com

    SALES DIRECTOR Matthew Spoor mspoor@bbiinternational.com

    SALES MANAGER, MEDIA & EVENTSHoward Brockhouse hbrockhouse@bbiinternational.com

    ACCOUNT MANAGERSClay Moore cmoore@bbiinternational.comJeremy Hanson jhanson@bbiinternational.comChip Shereck cshereck@bbiinternational.comTim Charles tcharles@bbiinternational.comMarty Steen msteen@bbiinternational.com

    ADVERTISING COORDINATOR Marla DeFoe mdefoe@bbiinternational.com

    SUBSCRIPTION MANAGER Jessica Beaudry jbeaudry@bbiinternational.com

    SUBSCRIBER ACQUISITON MANAGER Jason Smith jsmith@bbiinternational.com

    ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT, SALES Christie Anderson canderson@bbiinternational.com

    RECEPTIONIST Nicole Zambo nzambo@bbiinternational.com

    Subscriptions Subscriptions to Biomass Magazine are available for just $24.95 per year within the Unit-ed States, $39.95 for Canada and Mexico, and $49.95 for any country outside North America. Subscription forms are available online (www.BiomassMagazine.com), by mail or by fax. If you have questions, please contact Jessica Beaudry at (701) 746-8385 or jbeaudry@bbiinternational.com.

    Back Issues & Reprints Select back issues are available for $3.95 each, plus shipping. To place an order, con-tact Subscriptions at (701) 746-8385 or subscriptions@biomassmagazine.com. Article reprints are also avail-able for a fee. For more informa-tion, contact Christie Anderson at (701) 746-8385 or canderson@bbiinternational.com.

    Advertising Biomass Magazine pro-vides a specifi c topic delivered to a highly targeted audience. We are committed to editorial excellence and high-quality print production. To fi nd out more about Biomass Magazine advertising opportunities or to receive our Editorial Calendar & Rate Card, please contact Howard Brockhouse at (701) 746-8385 or hbrockhouse@bbiinternational.com.

    Letters to the Editor We welcome let-ters to the editor. Send to Biomass Magazine Letters to the Editor, 308 2nd Ave. N., Suite 304, Grand Forks, ND 58203 or e-mail to jsobolik@bbiinternational.com. Please include your name, address and phone num-ber. Letters may be edited for clarity and/or space.

    Cert no. SCS-COC-00648

  • 8 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 1|2009

    Disaster Debris Shouldnt Be a Problem

    recently came across an article in the International Herald Tribune that would make any red-blooded American biomass processor salivate. The story, titled Debris pile becomes symbol of US agency

    delays, was about a 30-mile-long pile of debris along the Texas coast leftover from the 2008 hurricane sea-son. However, before you start making plans to turn that debris into something useful such as energy or fertilizer, theres something you should know. According to the article, that pile of debris is mired in red tape.

    The article says the Federal Emergency Manage-ment Agency is working as fast as it can, but complex regulations, the need to spend taxpayer money wisely and arguments over who is responsible for what have stymied cleanup efforts.

    Call me crazy, but I think FEMA Administrator R. David Paulison and Secretary of Energy Sa