biomass magazine - february 2009

Download Biomass Magazine - February 2009

Post on 30-Mar-2016

228 views

Category:

Documents

5 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

February 2009 Biomass Magazine

TRANSCRIPT

  • INSIDE: TORREFACTION ON THE BRINK OF COMMERCIAL DEBUT

    February 2009

    www.BiomassMagazine.com

    Distributed Power in Dairy Country Americas Dairy Cows are Doing Their Part to Generate Renewable Energy

  • WhirligigThe New Standard for Shaft Speed Monitoring!s4HREEINONEUNIVERSALSHAFTSENSOR MOUNTFORBETTERINSTALLATIONs3ENSORMOUNTSTOTHE7HIRLIGIGANDTHE ASSEMBLYBOLTSTOTHEMACHINESSHAFTs-ACHINEANDSHAFTVIBRATIONDOESNOT AFFECTTHESENSORSPERFORMANCEs2OTATINGTARGETISENCLOSEDBEHIND ATOUGHPLASTICCOVER

    530AT

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    530AT

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    530AT

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    TouchSwitchA Safer and More Ef cient Belt Alignment Monitoring Device!s3ENSORISTRIGGEREDBYTHE FORCEOFBELTCONTACTs2EQUIRESNOHEATBUILDUP SOITSSAFERANDMOREEFlCIENTs(ARDENEDSTAINLESSSTEELFACEFORLESSWEARs%XTERNALTESTKNOBAND,%$FORSENSORTESTAND SYSTEMVERIlCATION

    Roto-SafeFailsafe Rotation Detection of High and Low Levels of Bulk Granular Solids in Bins, Tanks or Silos!s3INGLEPOINTROTARYLEVELINDICATORs-OTORANDGEARBOXSWITCHOFFWHEN ROTATIONISIMPEDEDs3ENSITIVITYADJUSTMENTFORLIGHTOR HEAVYMATERIALS

    M800SpeedswitchSimple, Versatile and Reliable Underspeed Protection!s0ROTECTSROTATINGEQUIPMENTFROMDANGEROUS UNDERSPEEDCONDITIONSs3OLIDSTATENONCONTACTINGWITHSIMPLE h-AGNETIC3WIPEvCALIBRATIONs0ROVIDESANDUNDERSPEEDOUTPUTS ANDDIGITALSPEEDOUTPUTS

    HotBus T500 EliteContinuous Bearing Temperature and Belt Misalignment Monitoring System!s$IGITAL#OMMUNICATION 3YSTEMFORMONITORINGUPTOPOINTSs!BSOLUTEANDRELATIVETEMPERATUREALARMSs5SERFRIENDLYMENUDRIVENSETANDCALIBRATIONs3INGLETWISTEDPAIRCOMMUNICATIONSAVES COSTSINWIRINGANDINSTALLATION

    www.go4b.com/biomass

    CC-S: Heavy-DutyElevator BucketsThick Front Lip and a Consistent Clean Discharge!s0ATENTEDPOLYMERBUCKETs4HICKh)CEBERG%DGEvFRONTLIPDESIGNIMPROVESPERFORMANCEs-AXIMIZECAPACITYWITHIMPROVEDlLLINGANDDISCHARGEs3TACKABLEDESIGNFORREDUCEDSTORAGEANDSHIPPINGSPACE

  • N

    ovo

    zymes A

    /S Cu

    stom

    er Co

    mm

    un

    ication

    s No

    . 20

    07

    -35

    46

    9-0

    2

    Novozymes North America, Inc.77 Perry Chapel Church Road Franklinton, NC 27525 Tel. +1 919-494-3000 Fax +1 919-494-3485biomass@novozymes.com www.novozymes.com

    Transforming corn and other grains into biofuels is a major industry

    today. But what about tomorrow? The future of biofuels will

    also rely on the next generation of raw materials biomass. At

    Novozymes were taking a fresh look at all types of biomass, and

    considering how we can turn it into something useful. And you

    know what? Corn cobs and wheat straw are just the beginning.

    Who knows what other types of waste we can transform into fuel?

    The future of fuel

    Novozymes is the world leader in bioinnovation.

    Together with customers across a broad array of

    industries we create tomorrows industrial bio-

    solutions, improving our customers business and

    the use of our planets resources. Read more at

    www.novozymes.com.

  • 4 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 2|2009

  • 2|2009 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 5

    INSIDE FEBRUARY 2009 VOLUME 3 ISSUE 2

    FEATURES. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    24 ANAEROBIC DIGESTION From Digestion to Distribution Power companies and dairy farmers are working together to fi nd ways to raise funds for anaerobic digesters and the means to distribute the energy thats produced. By Ryan C. Christiansen

    30 TECHNOLOGY A Torrefi c Energy Solution Torrefaction is on the brink of commercialization. The technology will be used to turn biomass into a fuel that is easier to transport and store, and is carbon neutral.By Anna Austin

    36 MARKET Closing the Wood Pellet Gap The U.S. could learn something from Europe when it comes to the use of wood pellets in commercial and utility applications.By Ron Kotrba

    42 FINANCE Project Finance: Lender Perspectives and Development TrendsWhile much of the world is in the midst of an economic slowdown, credit markets are still supporting biomass-to-energy projects.By Thomas M. Minnich

    46 PROCESS Anaerobic Options The positive environmental impacts and easy scalability of anaerobic digesters make them a wise choice for small-scale waste reduction and energy production projects.By Barnett Koven

    TECHNOLOGY | PAGE 30

    DEPARTMENTS. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    07 Advertiser Index

    08 Editors NoteMaking a Mountain of BiomassOut of a SnowbankBy Rona Johnson

    10 CITIES Corner

    Hoping for the Best of TimesBy Tim Portz

    11 Legal Perspectives Algae Bloom at the Patent Offi ceBy Philip Goldman and Todd Taylor

    15 Industry Events

    16 Business Briefs

    18 Industry News

    51 EERC UpdateBiofuels Sustainability: A Nonfood Feedstock PrimerBy Brad Stevens

    52 Marketplace

    Correction from our November 2008 issue:On page 52 of the Process contribution titled Producing the Next Generation of Green Hydrocarbons, the U.S. DOEs Biomass Program Web site should read http://www1.eere.gov/biomass.

  • I
  • 2|2009 BIOMASS MAGAZINE 7

    advertiserINDEX

    2009 Canadian Renewable Energy Workshop 9

    2009 Fuel Ethanol Workshop 14

    2009 International BIOMASS 12 & 13 Conference & Expo

    2009 RETECH Conference 6

    2010 National Ethanol Conference 29

    4B Components Ltd. 2

    Action Unloaders 34

    Agra Industries 26

    Barr-Rosin 27

    BBI Bioenergy Australasia Magazine 35

    BBI Engineering & Consulting 54

    BBI International Community Initiative To 55Improve Energy Sustainability (CITIES)

    Bioenergy Canada Magazine 50

    Christianson & Associates PLLP 40

    Continental Biomass Industries 4

    Detroit Stoker Company 45

    Duratech Industries International Inc. 28

    Ethanol Producer Magazine 53

    www.ethanol-jobs.com 41

    Jansen Combustion & Boiler Technologies Inc. 49

    Jeffrey Rader Corporation 33

    Laidig Systems, Inc. 39

    Mid-South Engineering Company 38

    Novozymes 3

    Price BIOstock Services 48

    R.C. Costello & Associates Inc. 44

    Robert-James Sales Inc. 56

    West Salem Machinery Co. 32

    EDITORIAL

    MANAGING EDITOR Jessica Sobolik jsobolik@bbiinternational.com

    CONTRIBUTIONS EDITOR Dave Nilles dnilles@bbiinternational.com

    FEATURES EDITOR Rona Johnson rjohnson@bbiinternational.com

    SENIOR STAFF WRITER Ron Kotrba rkotrba@bbiinternational.com

    STAFF WRITERSJerry W. Kram jkram@bbiinternational.comSusanne Retka Schill sretkaschill@bbiinternational.comKris Bevill kbevill@bbiinternational.com Erin Voegele evoegele@bbiinternational.comAnna Austin aaustin@bbiinternational.comRyan C. Christiansen rchristiansen@bbiinternational.com

    STAFF WRITER & PLANT LIST MANAGERBryan Sims bsims@bbiinternational.com

    ONLINE EDITOR Hope Deutscher hdeutscher@bbiinternational.com

    COPY EDITOR Jan Tellmann jtellmann@bbiinternational.com

    E-MEDIA COORDINATORMegan Skauge mskauge@bbiinternational.com

    ART

    ART DIRECTOR Jaci Satterlund jsatterlund@bbiinternational.com

    GRAPHIC DESIGNERSElizabeth Slavens bslavens@bbiinternational.comSam Melquist smelquist@bbiinternational.comJack Sitter jsitter@bbiinternational.com

    PUBLISHING & SALES

    PUBLISHER & CEO Mike Bryan mbryan@bbiinternational.com

    PUBLISHER & PRESIDENT Kathy Bryan kbryan@bbiinternational.com

    VICE PRESIDENT OF MEDIA & EVENTS Joe Bryan jbryan@bbiinternational.com

    VICE PRESIDENT OF COMMUNICATIONS Tom Bryan tbryan@bbiinternational.com

    SALES DIRECTOR Matthew Spoor mspoor@bbiinternational.com

    SALES MANAGER, MEDIA & EVENTSHoward Brockhouse hbrockhouse@bbiinternational.com

    ACCOUNT MANAGERSClay Moore cmoore@bbiinternational.comJeremy Hanson jhanson@bbiinternational.comChip Shereck cshereck@bbiinternational.comTim Charles tcharles@bbiinternational.comMarty Steen msteen@bbiinternational.comBob Brown bbrown@bbiinternational.com

    ADVERTISING COORDINATOR Marla DeFoe mdefoe@bbiinternational.com

    SUBSCRIPTION MANAGER Jessica Beaudry jbeaudry@bbiinternational.com

    SUBSCRIBER ACQUISITON MANAGER Jason Smith jsmith@bbiinternational.com

    ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT, SALES Christie Anderson canderson@bbiinternational.com

    RECEPTIONIST Nicole Zambo nzambo@bbiinternational.com

    Subscriptions Subscriptions to Biomass Magazine are available for just $24.95 per year within the Unit-ed States, $39.95 for Canada and Mexico, and $49.95 for any country outside North America. Subscription forms are available online (www.BiomassMagazine.com), by mail or by fax. If you have questions, please contact Jessica Beaudry at (701) 746-8385 or jbeaudry@bbiinternational.com.

    Back Issues & Reprints Select back issues are available for $3.95 each, plus shipping. To place an order, con-tact Subscriptions at (701) 746-8385 or subscriptions@biomassmagazine.com. Article reprints are also avail-able for a fee. For more informa-tion, contact Christie Anderson at (701) 746-8385 or canderson@bbiinternational.com.

    Advertising Biomass Magazine pro-vides a specifi c topic delivered to a highly targeted audience. We are committed to editorial excellence and high-quality print production. To fi nd out more about Biomass Magazine advertising opportunities or to receive our Editorial Calendar & Rate Card, please contact Howard Brockhouse at (701) 746-8385 or hbrockhouse@bbiinternational.com.

    Letters to the Editor We welcome let-ters to the editor. Send to Biomass Magazine Letters to the Editor, 308 2nd Ave. N., Suite 304, Grand Forks, ND 58203