the five pillars of islam 8 th grade social studies 8 th grade social studies

Download The Five Pillars of Islam 8 th Grade Social Studies 8 th Grade Social Studies

If you can't read please download the document

Post on 05-Jan-2016




4 download

Embed Size (px)


  • The Five Pillars of Islam8th Grade Social Studies

  • What are the Pillars?Religious DutyAll religions have certain duties that believers have to perform to be associated with that particular faith.The Five Pillars are five actions that Muslims try to accomplish throughout their lives.

  • ShahadaFirst Pillar: Shahada (Witness)In this pillar all Muslims must simply state their faith in Allah and express that there is no God but Allah.Muslims fulfill this obligation through prayer everyday by repeating the phrase There is no God but Allah, and Mohammed is his prophet

  • SalatSecond Pillar: Salat (Prayer)This Pillar is praying five times a day. There are set prayers which Muslims should say, and all Muslims should: face Mecca in Arabia when praying pray on a prayer matwash before they pray pray with fixed movements, which include kneeling with the forehead placed on the ground in front.

  • ZakatThird Pillar: Zakat (Charity)Each month, Muslims are supposed to give a sum of their income for charity. In some countries it can be as much as 10% of your monthly income. In this way, they believe that their wealth is made pure.

  • SawmThe Fourth Pillar: Sawm (Fasting)Muslims must not eat food and drink during the month of Ramadan during daylight hours.They do this to experience what the less fortunate go through.

  • HajjFifth Pillar: Hajj (Pilgrimage)At least once in their lives, all Muslims who are physically and financially able must make a pilgrimage to the holy city of Mecca.Non-Muslims are forbidden from entering the city.