the four noble truths and

Download The Four Noble Truths And

Post on 24-Feb-2016




0 download

Embed Size (px)


The Four Noble Truths And. The Noble Eightfold Path. First, some words from a master . Yoda and the teachings of the Jedi were heavily based upon Lucas’ interpretation of Buddhism. Buddhists believe that our attachments lead to our problems (things like fear, grief and anger). - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


Slide 1

The Four Noble TruthsAndThe Noble Eightfold PathFirst, some words from a master.

Yoda and the teachings of the Jedi were heavily based upon Lucas interpretation of Buddhism.

Buddhists believe that our attachments lead to our problems (things like fear, grief and anger).

So, while Yoda says that fear is the root of the dark side, the Buddha went a little deeper.

That brings us toThe Four Noble Truths

1: Life means suffering.PainSicknessInjuryTirednessStressOld age Death


2: The origin of suffering is attachment.

Craving and clinging to things is what gives us pain when theyre gone.We perceive love as good, for instance, but plenty of people have been killed for it.3: The cessation of suffering is attainable.

Method called Nirodha.Nirodha = unmaking of sensual craving and conceptual attachment.Peace through dispassion.

4:There is a path to the cessation of suffering. The Middle PathNot hedonistic, not ascetic.Gradually becoming dispassionate while increasing compassion.How?Thats where the Eightfold Path comes in.

Orange = Wisdom

Blue = Ethical Conduct

Purple = Mental DevelopmentRight ViewTo see the world as it is.To see things throughTo grasp the impermanent and imperfect nature of worldly objects and ideasTo understand the law of karma and karmic conditioning.Right Intention

Make sure youre doing things for the right reasonsThe Buddha distinguishes three types of right intentions:the intention of renunciation, which means resistance to the pull of desirethe intention of good will, meaning resistance to feelings of anger and aversionthe intention of harmlessness, meaning not to think or act cruelly, violently, or aggressively, and to develop compassion.

Right Speech

Basically, dont say nasty or untrue things.The Buddha explained right speech as follows:to abstain from false speech (Dont lie)to abstain from slanderous speech and not to use words maliciously against othersto abstain from harsh words that offend or hurt othersto abstain from idle chatter that lacks purpose or depth. Right Action

In a nutshell, be good to those around you.Right action means: to act kindly and compassionatelyto be honestto respect the belongings of othersto keep sexual relationships harmless to others.

Right LivelihoodMake your living in a way that doesnt harm (and ideally helps)Wealth should be gained legally and peacefully. Therefore, the Buddha forbade:dealing in weaponsdealing in living beingsworking in meat production and butcheryselling intoxicants and poisons, such as alcohol and drugs

Right Effort

Use self-discipline to stay on the path.Without Right Effort, nothing else here is possible.Right Mindfulness

Controlling your mind, actively observing and controlling the way our thoughts go.Buddha accounted for this as the four foundations of mindfulness:contemplation of the bodycontemplation of feeling (repulsive, attractive, or neutral)contemplation of the state of mindcontemplation of the phenomena.

Right Concentration

Concentrate on your actions, your intentions, and the world around you.Right concentration for the purpose of the eightfold path means wholesome concentration, i.e. concentration on wholesome thoughts and actions.The Buddhist method of choice to develop right concentration is through the practice of meditation. Through practice it becomes natural to apply elevated levels concentration also in everyday situations.


View more >