seo 101 presented by chris silver smith, lead strategist, netconcepts

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SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

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Page 1: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

SEO 101

presented by Chris Silver Smith,

Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Page 2: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Today’s Agenda

What is SEO? The Seven Steps to Higher Rankings

– Get Your Site Fully Indexed

– Get Your Pages Visible

– Build Links & PageRank

– Leverage Your PageRank

– Encourage Clickthrough

– Track the Right Metrics

– Avoid Worst Practices

Page 3: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Part 1: What Is SEO?

Page 4: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Everything Revolves Around Search

Page 5: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search Engine Optimization

6 times more effective than a banner ad Delivers qualified leads 80% of Internet user sessions begin at the

search engines (Source: Internetstats.com)

55% of online purchases are made on sites found through search engine listings (Source: Internetstats.com)

Page 6: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

SEO is NOT Paid Advertising

SEO – “Search Engine Optimization” – seeks to influence rankings in the “natural” (a.k.a. “organic”, a.k.a. “algorithmic”) search results

PPC – paid search advertising on a pay-per-click basis. The more you pay, the higher your placement. Stop paying = stop receiving traffic.

SEM – encompasses both SEO and PPC

Page 7: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Natural

Paid

Paid

Page 8: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Google Listings – Your Virtual Sales Force

Savvy retailers making 6-7 figures a month from natural listings

Savvy MFA (Made for AdSense) site owners making 5-6 figures per month

Most sites are not SE-friendly Google friendliness = friendly to other engines First calculate your missed opportunities

Page 9: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table

Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products and services that you offer?

# of people searching for your keywords

x

engine share (Google = 60%)

xexpected click-through rate

average conversion rate

average transaction amount

x x

E.g.10,000/day x 60% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,000/day

Page 10: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Most Important Search Engines

Google (also powers AOL Search, Netscape.com, iWon, etc.) – 60.29% market share (Source: Hitwise)

Yahoo! (also powers Alltheweb, AltaVista, Hotbot, Lycos, CNN, A9) – 22.58%

Live Search (formerly MSN Search) – 11.56% Ask – 3.63%

Page 11: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

People Are Googling… Are You There?

Page 12: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What Are Searchers Looking For?

Keyword Research– “Target the wrong keywords and all your efforts

will be in vain.”

The “right” keywords are…– relevant to your business– popular with searchers

Page 13: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Research

Tools to check popularity of keyword searches– WordTracker.com– Trellian’s KeywordDiscovery.com– Google’s Keyword Tool– Google Trends– Google Suggest

Page 14: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

WordTracker.com Pros

– Based on last 60 days worth of searches– Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out– Advanced functionality: keyword “projects”, import data into Excel,

synonyms, … Cons

– Requires subscription fee ($260/year)– Data is from a small sample of Internet searches (from the minor

search engines Dogpile and MetaCrawler)– Contains bogus data from automated searches– No historical archives

Page 15: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to WordTracker

Page 16: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Trellian’s KeywordDiscovery.com Pros

– Full year of historical archives– Data is from a large sample of Internet searches (9 billion searches

compiled from 37 engines)– Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out– Can segment by country– Advanced functionality: keyword “projects”, import data into Excel,

synonyms, … Cons

– Access to the historical data requires subscription fee (~$30/month)– Contains bogus data from automated searches

Page 17: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to KeywordDiscovery

Page 18: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Google AdWords Keyword Tool Pros

– Free! (Must have an AdWords account though)– Data is from a large sample of Internet searches (from Google)– Singular vs plural, misspellings, verb tenses all separated out– Can segment by country– Synonyms

Cons– No hard numbers

Augment this tool with other free Google tools: – Google Suggest (labs.google.com/suggest) – Google Trends (www.google.com/trends)

Page 19: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to

Google AdWords

Keyword Tool

Page 20: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to

Google AdWords

Keyword Tool

Page 21: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to

Google Trends

Page 22: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Popularity –According to Google Suggest

Page 23: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Research

Competition for that keyword should also be considered– Calculate KEI Score (Keyword Effectiveness

Indicator) = ratio of searches over number of pages in search results

– The higher the KEI Score, the more attractive the keyword is to target (assuming it’s relevant to your business)

Page 24: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

SEO. A Moving Target. A lot is changing…

– Personalization & customization– Vertical search services (Images, Video, News, Maps, etc.)– “Blended Search” – aka “Universal Search”

Fortunately, the tried-and-true tactics still work…– Topically relevant links from important sites– Anchor text– Keyword-rich title tags– Keyword-rich content– Internal hierarchical linking structure– The whole is greater than the sum of the parts

Page 25: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

The Search Engines Are Your Friend Sitemaps.org Webmaster tools (e.g. Google Webmaster Central,

Live Search Webmaster Center, Yahoo Site Explorer) Rel=“nofollow” tag Meta NOODP tag Speaking at search engine conferences Publishing blogs dedicated to helping webmasters Participating on SEO forums “Weather reports”

Page 26: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

SEO Can Dramatically Improve Traffic/Sales

Non-optimal site with few pages indexed

Optimized site with many pages indexed

Few visits/sales per day Many visits/sales per day!

$=

Page 27: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Part 2: Seven Steps to High Rankings

Page 28: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Begin The 7 Steps

1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed

2) Get Your Pages Visible

3) Build Links & PageRank

4) Leverage Your PageRank

4) Encourage Clickthrough

6) Track the Right Metrics

7) Avoid Worst Practices

Page 29: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed Search engines are wary of “dynamic” pages - they fear “spider

traps”

Avoid stop characters (?, &, =) ‘cgi-bin’, session IDs and unnecessary variables in your URLs; frames; redirects; pop-ups; navigation in Flash/Java/Javascript/pulldown boxes – If not feasible due to platform constraints, can be easily

handled through proxy technology (e.g. GravityStream)

The better your PageRank, the deeper and more often your site will be spidered

Page 30: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Lack of links down into all content pages;

Common Barriers to Spidering:

!Non-textlink sitewide navigation;• Search-form-only;

• Javascript/Java-only (ie: dynamic menus);

• Flash apps / Splash pages;

Non-optimal URL formats of pages;

http://www.example.com/app.jsp?sid=abc123xyz

URL Framed Content

Page 31: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

1) Get Your Site Fully Indexed (cont’d) Page # estimates are wildly inaccurate, and include non-

indexed pages (e.g. ones with no title or snippet) Misconfigurations (in robots.txt, in the type of redirects used,

requiring cookies, etc.) can kill indexation Keep your error pages out of the index by returning 404 status

code Keep duplicate pages out of the index by standardizing your

URLs, eliminating unnecessary variables, using 301 redirects when needed

Page 32: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Results in “Supplemental Hell”

Page 33: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Example of Non-Optimal Site Design:

PR 8 site has META refresh redirect on homepage – spiders not redirected to destination page:

Also, indexed “shell” page doesn’t contain any text content!

Page 34: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Not Spider-Friendly

GET http://www.bananarepublic.com --> 302 Moved Temporarily

GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/browse/home.do --> 302 Moved Temporarily

GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/browse/home.do?targetURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bananarepublic.com%2Fbrowse%2Fhome.do&CookieSet=Set --> 302 Moved Temporarily

GET http://www.bananarepublic.com/cookieFailure.do --> 200 OK

Page 35: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

2) Get Your Pages Visible 100+ “signals” that influence ranking “Title tag” is the most important copy on the page Home page is the most important page of a site Every page of your site has a “song” (keyword theme) Incorporate keywords into title tags, hyperlink text,

headings (H1 & H2 tags), alt tags, and high up in the page (where they’re given more “weight”)

Eliminate extraneous HTML code “Meta tags” are not a magic bullet Have text for navigation, not graphics

Page 36: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Pretty good title

Page 37: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Not so good title – where’s the phrase “credit card”?

Page 38: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Dynamic Site Leaves Session IDs in URLs:

Titles not specific to page (“jewelry”)

Main text on page just nav labels –Little text/keyword content

Page 39: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Good link text and body copy

Page 40: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Good link text and body copy

Page 41: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

No link text or body copy

Page 42: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

No link text or body copy

Page 43: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Take a peek under the hood

Page 44: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

The “meta tags”

Page 45: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Unnecessarily bloated HTML

Page 46: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

3) Build Links and PageRank “Link popularity” affects search engine rankings PageRank™ - Links from “important” sites have more impact

on your Google rankings (weighted link popularity) Google offers a window into your PageRank

– PageRank meter in the Google Toolbar (toolbar.google.com)– Google Directory (directory.google.com) category pages– 3rd party tools like SEOChat.com’s “PageRank Lookup” & “PageRank

Search”

Scores range from 0-10 on a logarithmic scale Live Search and Yahoo have similar measures to

PageRank™

Page 47: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Google’s Toolbar – with handy PageRank Meter

Page 48: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Google Directory – listings are organized by PageRank

Page 49: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Conduct any Google query and get results organized by PageRank

Page 50: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

4) Leverage Your PageRank

Your home page’s PageRank gets distributed to your deep pages by virtue of your hierarchical internal linking structure (e.g. breadcrumb nav)

Pay attention to the text used within the hyperlink (“Google bombing”)

Don’t hoard your PageRank Don’t link to “bad neighborhoods”

Page 51: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Ideal internal site linking hierarchies:

Homepages often will be highest-ranking site pages since they typically have

most inbound links.

Good link trees inform search engines about which

site pages are most important.

*Sitemaps can also be used to tell SEs about pages, & to define relative priority.

Page 52: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

4) Leverage Your PageRank

Avoid PageRank dilution– Canonicalization (www.domain.com vs. domain.com)– Duplicate pages: (session IDs, tracking codes,

superfluous parameters)– In general, search engines are cautious of dynamic

URLs (with ?, &, and = characters) because of “spider traps”

• Rewrite your URLs (using a server module/plug-in) or use a hosted proxy service (e.g. GravityStream)

• See http://catalogagemag.com/mag/marketing_right_page_web/

Page 53: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Duplicate pages

Page 54: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Googlebot got caught in a “spider trap”

Page 55: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search engine spiders turn their noses up at such URLs

Page 56: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Thus, important content doesn’t make it into the search engine indices

Page 57: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Zipf’s Law applies - you need to be at the top of page 1 of the search results. It’s an implied endorsement.

Synergistic effect of being at the top of the natural results & paid results

Entice the user with a compelling call-to-action and value proposition in your descriptions

Your title tag is critical Snippet gets built automatically, but you CAN influence

what’s displayed here

5) Encourage Clickthrough

Page 58: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Where do searchers look? (Enquiro, Did-it, Eyetools Study)

Page 59: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search listings – 1 good,1 lousy

Page 60: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

6) Track the Right Metrics

Indexation: # of pages indexed, % of site indexed, % of product inventory indexed, # of “fresh pages”

Link popularity: # of links, PageRank score (0 - 10)

Rankings: by keyword, “filtered” (penalized) rankings

Keyword popularity: # of searches, competition, KEI (Keyword Effectiveness Indicator) scores

Cost/ROI: sales by keyword & by engine, cost per lead

Page 61: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Indexation tool –www.netconcepts.com/urlcheck

Page 62: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts
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Link popularity tool –www.netconcepts.com/linkcheck

Page 64: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts
Page 65: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Avoid Worst Practices Target relevant keywords Don’t stuff keywords or replicate pages Create deep, useful content Don't conceal, manipulate, or over-optimize

content Links should be relevant (no scheming!) Observe copyright/trademark law & Google’s

guidelines

Page 66: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Spamming in Its Many Forms… Hidden or small text Keyword stuffing Targeted to obviously irrelevant keywords Automated submitting, resubmitting, deep

submitting Competitor names in meta tags Duplicate pages with minimal or no changes Spamglish Machine generated content

Page 67: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Spamming in Its Many Forms…

Pagejacking Doorway pages Cloaking Submitting to FFA (“Free For All”) sites & link farms Buying up expired domains with high PageRanks Scraping Splogging (spam blogging)

Page 68: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

BMW.de hosted many

“doorway pages” like

this one

Page 69: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

“Sneaky redirect” sent searchers to

this page

Page 70: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Not Spam, But Bad for Rankings Splash pages, content-less home page, Flash intros Title tags the same across the site Error pages in the search results (eg “Session expired”) "Click here" links Superfluous text like “Welcome to” at beginning of titles Spreading site across multiple domains (usually for load

balancing) Content too many levels deep

Page 71: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What Next? Conduct an SEO Audit!

Is your site fully indexed? Are your pages fully optimized? Could you be acquiring more PageRank? Are you spending your PageRank wisely? Are you maximizing your clickthrough rates? Are you measuring the right things? Are you applying “best practices” in SEO and

avoiding all the “worst practices”?

Page 72: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Review Errors/Messages in Webmaster Tools

Page 73: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Content Opt Opportunities via Webmaster Tools

Page 74: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Check Robots.txt Exclusions in Webmaster Tools

Page 75: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Case Study: Homestead.com

What worked– Comprehensive SEO & usability audit – Intensive on-site training sessions with their IT and

marketing teams– 6 months of support

What didn’t work– No significant changes to the look of the home

page were allowed for political reasons, significantly reducing the options available

Page 76: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Case Study: Homestead.com

Results– Within 8 weeks of launch of some preliminary

optimization work, on page 1 for “website hosting” in Google

– With our audit as a blueprint, later that year launched an internally built site redesign which landed them the #1 Google position for “website hosting”

– Consistently held #1 position for 2 years

Page 77: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts
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Page 81: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

In Summary Focus on the right keywords Have great keyword-rich content Build links, and thus your PageRank™ Spend that PageRank™ wisely within your site Measure the right things Continually monitor and benchmark

Page 82: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Further Reading blogs.cnet.com/seosearchlight google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=35769 www.google.com/webmasters/ www.mattcutts.com/blog googlewebmastercentral.blogspot.com blog.outer-court.com www.searchengineland.com www.seroundtable.com www.naturalsearchblog.com www.stephanspencer.com

Page 83: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Q&A!

Special White Papers Available:

Image Search Optimization

Local Search Optimization Tactics

New Link Building Paradigms

Online Marketing Tips for Universities

Tips & Tricks for Local Search Ads

Email: [email protected]

Page 84: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Page 85: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Agenda

• What is a Search Engine?

• Examples of popular Search Engines

• Search Engines statistics

• Why is Search Engine marketing important?

• What is a SEO Algorithm?

• Steps to developing a good SEO strategy

• Ranking factors

• Basic tips for optimization

Page 86: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Examples popular Search Engines

Page 87: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts
Page 88: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

How Do Search Engines Work?

Mechanics of a typical search

Page 89: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Results & ads returned ranked

Page 90: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Category of first result

Page 91: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Result for phrase query

Page 92: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

How Do Search Engines Work?

Spider “crawls” the web to find new documents (web pages, other documents) typically by following hyperlinks from websites already in their database

Search engines indexes the content (text, code) in these documents by adding it to their databases and then periodically updates this content

Search engines search their own databases when a user enters in a search to find related documents (not searching web pages in real-time)

Search engines rank the resulting documents using an algorithm (mathematical formula) by assigning various weights and ranking factors

Page 93: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search on the Web Corpus: The publicly accessible Web: static + dynamic

Goal: Retrieve high quality results relevant to the user’s need– (not docs!)

Need– Informational – want to learn about something

– Navigational – want to go to that page

– Transactional – want to do something (web-mediated) • Access a service

• Downloads

• Shop– Gray areas

• Find a good hub• Exploratory search “see what’s there”

Low hemoglobin

United Airlines

Tampere weatherMars surface images

Nikon CoolPix

Car rental Finland

Abortion morality

Page 94: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search Engines as Info Gatekeepers

Search engines are becoming the primary entry point for discovering web

pages. Ranking of web pages

influences which pages users will view. Exclusion of a site from search engines

will cut off the site from its intended audience.

The privacy policy of a search engine is important.

Page 95: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

100+ Billion Searches / Month

Page 96: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Search Engine Wars

The battle for domination of the web search space

is heating up! The competition is good news for users! Crucial:

advertising is combined with search results! What if one of the search engines

will manage to dominate the space?

Page 97: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Yahoo!

Synonymous with the dot-com boom, probably the best known brand on the web.

Started off as a web directory service in 1994,acquired leading search engine technology in 2003.

Has very strong advertising and e-commerce partners

Page 98: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Lycos! One of the pioneers of the field

Introduced innovations that inspired the creation of Google

Page 99: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Google

Verb “google” has become synonymous with searching for information on the web.

Has raised the bar on search quality

Has been the most popular search engine in the last few years.

Had a very successful IPO in August 2004.

Is innovative and dynamic.

Google.com is registered as a domain on September 15, 1997. The name—a play on the word "googol," a mathematical term for the number represented by the numeral 1 followed by 100 zeros—reflects Larry and Sergey's mission to organize a seemingly infinite amount of information on the web.

Page 100: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Live Search (was: MSN Search)

Synonymous with PC software.

Remember its victory in the browser wars with Netscape.

Developed its own search engine technology only recently, officially launched in Feb. 2005.

May link web search into its next version of Windows.

Page 101: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Important?

80% of consumers find your website by first writing a query into a box on a search engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing)

90% choose a site listed on the first page

85% of all traffic on the internet is referred to by search engines

The top three organic positions receive 59% percent of user clicks.

Cost-effective advertising

Clear and measurable ROI

Operates under this assumption:More (relevant) traffic + Good Conversions Rate = More Sales/Leads

Page 102: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Experiment with query syntax

Default is AND, e.g. “computer chess” normally interpreted as “computer AND chess”, i.e. both keywords must be present in all hits.

“+chess” in a query means the user insists that “chess” be present in all hits.

“computer OR chess” means either keywords must be present in all hits.

“”computer chess”” means that the phrase “computer chess” must be present in all hits.

Page 103: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

The most popular search keywords

AltaVista (1998) AlltheWeb (2002) Excite (2001)

sex free free

applet sex sex

porno download pictures

mp3 software new

chat uk nude

Page 104: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Free Keyword Research Tools

–https://adwords.google.com/o/Targeting/Explorer?__c=1000000000&__u=1000000000&__o=te&ideaRequestType=KEYWORD_IDEAS#search.none

–Keyword Tool and Traffic Estimator to identify competitive phrases and search frequencies

–http://www.google.com/insights/search

–Compare search patterns across specific regions, categories, time frames and properties

Page 105: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Web search Users

Ill-defined queries– Short length– Imprecise terms– Sub-optimal syntax

(80% queries without operator)– Low effort in defining queries

Wide variance in– Needs– Expectations– Knowledge– Bandwidth

Specific behavior– 85% look over

one result screen only – mostly above the fold– 78% of queries are not

modified • 1 query/session

– Follow links – “the scent of information” ...

Page 106: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

How far do people look for results?

Page 107: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Architecture of a Search Engine

The Web

Ad indexes

Web Results 1 - 10 of about 7,310,000 for miele. (0.12 seconds)

Miele, Inc -- Anything else is a compromise At the heart of your home, Appliances by Miele. ... USA. to miele.com. Residential Appliances. Vacuum Cleaners. Dishwashers. Cooking Appliances. Steam Oven. Coffee System ... www.miele.com/ - 20k - Cached - Similar pages

Miele Welcome to Miele, the home of the very best appliances and kitchens in the world. www.miele.co.uk/ - 3k - Cached - Similar pages

Miele - Deutscher Hersteller von Einbaugeräten, Hausgeräten ... - [ Translate this page ] Das Portal zum Thema Essen & Geniessen online unter www.zu-tisch.de. Miele weltweit ...ein Leben lang. ... Wählen Sie die Miele Vertretung Ihres Landes. www.miele.de/ - 10k - Cached - Similar pages

Herzlich willkommen bei Miele Österreich - [ Translate this page ] Herzlich willkommen bei Miele Österreich Wenn Sie nicht automatisch weitergeleitet werden, klicken Sie bitte hier! HAUSHALTSGERÄTE ... www.miele.at/ - 3k - Cached - Similar pages

Sponsored Links

CG Appliance Express Discount Appliances (650) 756-3931 Same Day Certified Installation www.cgappliance.com San Francisco-Oakland-San Jose, CA Miele Vacuum Cleaners Miele Vacuums- Complete Selection Free Shipping! www.vacuums.com Miele Vacuum Cleaners Miele-Free Air shipping! All models. Helpful advice. www.best-vacuum.com

Web spider

Indexer

Indexes

Search

User

Page 108: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Web Crawling

108

Page 109: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Q: How does a search engine know that all these pages

contain the query terms?

A: Because all of those pages have

been crawled 109

Page 110: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Crawling picture

Web

URLs frontier

Unseen Web

Seedpages

URLs crawledand parsed

Sec. 20.2

110

Page 111: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Motivation for crawlers

Support universal search engines (Google, Yahoo, MSN/Windows Live, Ask, etc.)

Vertical (specialized) search engines, e.g. news, shopping, papers, recipes, reviews, etc.

Business intelligence: keep track of potential competitors, partners

Monitor Web sites of interest Evil: harvest emails for spamming, phishing… … Can you think of some others?…

111

Page 112: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

A crawler within a search engine

112

Web

Text index PageRank

Page repository

googlebot

Text & link analysisQuery

hits

Ranker

Page 113: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

One taxonomy of crawlers

Many other criteria could be used:– Incremental, Interactive, Concurrent, Etc.

113

Universal crawlers

Focused crawlers

Evolutionary crawlers Reinforcement learning crawlers

etc...

Adaptive topical crawlers

Best-first PageRank

etc...

Static crawlers

Topical crawlers

Preferential crawlers

Crawlers

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Basic crawlers

This is a sequential crawler Seeds can be any list of starting

URLs Order of page visits is determined

by frontier data structure Stop criterion can be anything

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Graph traversal (BFS or DFS?)

Breadth First Search– Implemented with QUEUE (FIFO)

– Finds pages along shortest paths

– If we start with “good” pages, this keeps us close; maybe other good stuff…

Depth First Search– Implemented with STACK (LIFO)

– Wander away (“lost in cyberspace”)

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Universal crawlers

Support universal search engines Large-scale Huge cost (network bandwidth) of crawl is

amortized over many queries from users Incremental updates to existing index and

other data repositories

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Large-scale universal crawlers

Two major issues:

1. Performance• Need to scale up to billions of pages

2. Policy• Need to trade-off coverage, freshness, and bias

(e.g. toward “important” pages)

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Large-scale crawlers: scalability

Need to minimize overhead of DNS lookups Need to optimize utilization of network bandwidth and disk

throughput (I/O is bottleneck) Use asynchronous sockets

– Multi-processing or multi-threading do not scale up to billions of pages– Non-blocking: hundreds of network connections open simultaneously– Polling socket to monitor completion of network transfers

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Universal crawlers: Policy

Coverage– New pages get added all the time– Can the crawler find every page?

Freshness– Pages change over time, get removed, etc.– How frequently can a crawler revisit ?

Trade-off!– Focus on most “important” pages (crawler bias)?– “Importance” is subjective

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Web coverage by search engine crawlers

35% 34%

16%

50%

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

1997 1998 1999 2000

This assumes we know the size of the entire the Web. Do we? Can you define “the size of the

Web”?

Page 121: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Maintaining a “fresh” collection

Universal crawlers are never “done” High variance in rate and amount of page changes HTTP headers are notoriously unreliable

– Last-modified– Expires

Solution– Estimate the probability that a previously visited page has

changed in the meanwhile– Prioritize by this probability estimate

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Do we need to crawl the entire Web?

If we cover too much, it will get stale There is an abundance of pages in the Web For PageRank, pages with very low prestige are largely

useless What is the goal?

– General search engines: pages with high prestige – News portals: pages that change often– Vertical portals: pages on some topic

What are appropriate priority measures in these cases? Approximations?

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Complications

Web crawling isn’t feasible with one machine– All of the above steps distributed

Malicious pages– Spam pages – Spider traps – incl dynamically generated

Even non-malicious pages pose challenges– Latency/bandwidth to remote servers vary– Webmasters’ stipulations

• How “deep” should you crawl a site’s URL hierarchy?

– Site mirrors and duplicate pages Politeness – don’t hit a server too often

Sec. 20.1.1

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ROBOT.TXT

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your guide for the search engines

Page 125: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What is robots.txt?

It’s a file in the root of your website that can either allow or restrict search engine robots from crawling pages on your website.

Page 126: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

How does it work?

Before a search engine robot crawls your website, it will first look for your robots.txt file to find out where you want them to go.

There are 3 things you should keep in mind:Robots can ignore your robots.txt. Malware robots scanning the web for security vulnerabilities, or email address harvesters used by spammers, will not care about your instructions.The robots.txt file is public. Anyone can see what areas of your website you don’t want robots to see.Search engines can still index (but not crawl) a page you’ve disallowed, if it’s linked to from another website. In the search results it’ll then only show the url, but usually no title or information snippet. Instead, make use of the robots meta tag for that page.

Page 127: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What to put in your robots.txt file

User-agent:

This is the line where you define which robot you’re talking to. It’s like saying hello to the robot: User-agent: * (Googlebot - Google, Slurp – Yahoo)

Disallow:

This tells the robots what you don’t want them to crawl on your site: Disallow: / (do not crawl anything on my site) /images/

Allow

This tells the robots what you want them to crawl on your site.

Allow: /

Page 128: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What to put in your robots.txt file

(Asterisk / wildcard *)

With the * symbol, you tell the robots to match any number of any characters. Very useful for example when you don’t want your internal search result pages to be indexed.

Disallow: *contact* (do not crawl any urls containing the word contact)

$ (Dollar sign / ends with)

The dollar sign tells the robots that it is the end of the url.

Disallow: *.pdf$

# (Hash / comme

You can add comments after the “#” symbol, either at the start of a line or after a directive.

Page 129: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What to put in your robots.txt file

Crawl-Delay

This directive asks the robot to wait a certain amount of seconds after each time it’s crawled a page on your website..

Crawl-delay: 5

Request-rate:

Here you tell the robot how many pages you want it to crawl within a certain amount of seconds. The first number is pages, and the second number is seconds.

Request-rate: 1/5 # load 1 page per 5 seconds

Visit-time:

It’s like opening hours, i.e. when you want the robots to visit your website. This can be useful if you don’t want the robots to visit your website during busy hours (when you have lots of human visitors).

Visit-time: 2100-0500 # only visit between 21:00 (9PM) and 05:00 (5AM) UTC (GMT)

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Test your page

https://www.google.com/webmasters/

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SEO

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Search engine optimization

Page 132: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What is SEO?

SEO = Search Engine Optimization

– Refers to the process of “optimizing” both the on-page and off-page ranking factors in order to achieve high search engine rankings for targeted search terms.

– Refers to the “industry” that has been created regarding using keyword searching a a means of increasing relevant traffic to a website

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What is a SEO Algorithm?

Top Secret! Only select employees of a search engines company know for certain

Reverse engineering, research and experiments gives SEOs (search engine optimization professionals) a “pretty good” idea of the major factors and approximate weight assignments

The SEO algorithm is constantly changed, tweaked & updated

Websites and documents being searched are also constantly changing

Varies by Search Engine – some give more weight to on-page factors, some to link popularity

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http://seositecheckup.com/

Page 136: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

A good SEO strategy:

Research desirable keywords and search phrases (WordTracker, Overture, Google AdWords)

Identify search phrases to target (should be relevant to business/market, obtainable and profitable)

“Clean” and optimize a website’s HTML code for appropriate keyword density, title tag optimization, internal linking structure, headings and subheadings, etc.

Help in writing copy to appeal to both search engines and actual website visitors

Study competitors (competing websites) and search engines

Implement a quality link building campaign

Add Quality content

Constant monitoring of rankings for targeted search terms

Page 137: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Ranking factors

On-Page Factors (Code & Content)#3 - Title tags <title>

#5 - Header tags <h1>

#4 - ALT image tags

#1 - Content, Content, Content (Body text) <body>

#6 - Hyperlink text

#2 - Keyword frequency & density

Off-Page Factors#1 Anchor text

#2 - Link Popularity (“votes” for your site) – adds credibility

Page 138: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

What a Search Engine Sees

View > Source (HTML code)

Page 139: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Pay Per Click

PPC ads appear as “sponsored listings”Companies bid on price they are willing to pay “per click”Typically have very good tracking tools and statisticsAbility to control ad textCan set budgets and spending limitsGoogle AdWords and Overture are the two leaders

Page 140: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

PPC vs. “Organic” SEO

Pay-Per-Click “Organic” SEO

• results in 1-2 days• easier for a novice or one little knowledge of SEO• ability to turn on and off at any moment• generally more costly per visitor and per conversion• fewer impressions and exposure• easier to compete in highly competitive market space (but it will cost you)• Ability to generate exposure on related sites (AdSense)• ability to target “local” markets• better for short-term and high-margin campaigns

• results take 2 weeks to 4 months• requires ongoing learning and experience to achieve results• very difficult to control flow of traffic• generally more cost-effective, does not penalize for more traffic• SERPs are more popular than sponsored ads• very difficult to compete in highly competitive market space• ability to generate exposure on related websites and directories• more difficult to target local markets• better for long-term and lower margin campaigns

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Keys to Successful SEO Strategy

Page 142: SEO 101 presented by Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts

Keyword Selection

Marketing/Brand Relevance

Search Frequency

CompetitionOptimizationOpportunity

How closely does the keyword match your product/service offering, messaging, goals and objectives?

How much competition (large, authority sites) is there for the particular keyword?

Is there already a logical place on the site to optimize for the particular keyword?

How many people are searching on the particular keyword?