sempo atlanta keyote: search and your marketing mix 09-05-12

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Search and Your Marketing Mix

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Page 1: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Search and Your Marketing Mix

Page 2: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

First Off... Who Am I?

Co-author: The Art of SEO President: Stone Temple Consulting

25+ person SEO and PPC firm Trainer: Instant E-Training Founder: Web Site Publishing Companies

Publish web sites, grow them, then sell them2 significant exits so far

Twitter: @stonetemple Google Plus: +Eric Enge

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 3: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Part 1

Marketing Media

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 4: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Influence of Media on Decisions

Source: Fleishman-Hilliard

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 5: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Selected Data on Media Consumption

Source: Fleishman-Hilliard

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 6: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

TV / Print / Radio

About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Long established Cost / ROI Models

Comfortable for traditional marketers

Immediate action is not an option

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 7: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Example Display Ad

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 8: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Online Display Advertising

About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Emerging Cost / ROI Models

Comfortable for traditional marketers Similar return model to TV/Print/Radio

Immediate action is an option But, “Interruption Mode”

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 9: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Classic Marketing Rule of Thumb

7 impressions per sale

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 10: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

And What About Search?

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 11: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Are You In Control of the Message?

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 12: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Do You Interrupt The User?

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 13: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

No, The User Must Do 3 Things

11 12 13

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 14: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Search Step 1 – Go to a Search Engine

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 15: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Search Step 2 – Enter a Query

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 16: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Search Step 3 – Click on a Result

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 17: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Where is Search in the Conversion Funnel?

SearchInvolvedAt EveryStage

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Marketing Campaigns

Awareness

Interest

Evaluation

Commitment

Referral

Repeat

Page 18: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Search Always Starts With a Need

• I need:– Information– A product– A service– To be entertained

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 19: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Push vs. Pull

MY BENEFITS!

MY NEED!

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 20: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Harvesting Demand

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

TV, Print, Radio

TraditionalOutlets

HarvestDemand

Create Demand

Generic Demand

Internet

DiaperDry baby

Crying babyI need sleep

Page 21: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Why Are Facebook Shares Down?

$38.00

$19.00

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 22: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Facebook Continued

But Facebook offers all this amazing targeting, right?

Yes, but it is a display ad network It is interruption based advertising

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 23: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Ads on my Wall

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 24: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Part 2

SEO vs PPC

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 25: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Natural vs. Paid

25

NaturalNatural PaidPaid

PaidPaid

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 26: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

PPC and SEO are Synergistic

Source: Brad Geddes on Search Engine Land

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 27: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Observation

73% of clicks went to SEO One high volume keyword was used Similar data obtained in other tests

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 28: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Paid Vs. Organic Click Volume

22%PPC

78%Organic

2010 DataPPC ShareGrowingOver Time

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 29: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Paid vs. Organic Click Volume

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Keywords yourank for in

Organic Search

KeywordsYou Bid on75%

Of clicks

25%Of clicks

100%Of clicks

All Relevant Keywords

Page 30: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Organic Ranking

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

KeywordResearch

CreatePages

Black BoxAlgo

Rank for terms as

determined by Algo

Page 31: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Paid Ranking

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

KeywordResearch

AdWordsAccount

Rank for terms largely defined

by you

HistoricalCTR

+Keyword &

Landing Page Relevance

+Landing Page

Relevance+

Other

Quality Score

Max Bid

Page 32: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Part 3

Justifying SEO

Page 33: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

SEO Ranking Timeline

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Create a new page

Black BoxAlgo

6moslater

Maybe rankFor something

Page 34: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

• Classic SEO Sales Pitch

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 35: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 36: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 37: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits

3.I don’t know how large the benefits will be

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 38: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Sign here, $10,000 a month!

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 39: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Google AdWords Keyword Tool

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 40: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Bing Webmaster Tools

Real Numbersfor searchesat Bing.com!

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 41: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Wordtracker

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 42: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Coming Up with a Total

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 43: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 44: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Calculating Search Potential

(Data fromAhrefs.com)

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 45: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Do The Math!

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 46: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Alternate Method

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 47: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table

• Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products & services that you offer?

# of people searching for your keywords x

engine share (Google = 70%) x

expected click-through rate

average conversion rate

average transaction amountx x

E.g.10,000/day x 70% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,500/day

47

searchengineland.com/selling-the-benefits-of-seo-in-a-large-enterprise-36189

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 48: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Show Competitors Winning

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 49: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Part 4

Justifying Paid Search

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 50: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Setup An Account Today and …

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 51: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Get Traffic Today

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 52: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Margin in Competitive DR Markets

Have to combat this with active optimizationSet it and forget it does not work

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 53: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 54: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Calculating ROI

Expense Happens TodayRevenue May Happen Over Time

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Page 55: Sempo Atlanta Keyote: Search and your Marketing Mix 09-05-12

Thank You!

Eric Enge

[email protected]

@stonetemple

+ Eric Enge

(508) 485-7751

www.stonetemple.com