pc/104 and small form factors summer 2014

Download PC/104 and Small Form Factors Summer 2014

Post on 24-Mar-2016

213 views

Category:

Documents

1 download

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

PC/104 and Small Form Factors Magazine, SBCs: PC/104 Use in Unmanned Aircraft, Processor Architectures: Where Art Thou PowerPC, Packaging Considerations for Small Form Factor Boards

TRANSCRIPT

  • John McHale, Editorial Director jmchale@opensystemsmedia.com

    Lisa Daigle, Assistant Managing Editor ldaigle@opensystemsmedia.com

    Brandon Lewis, Assistant Managing Editor blewis@opensystemsmedia.com

    Steph Sweet, Creative Director ssweet@opensystemsmedia.com

    PC/104 and Small Form Factors Editorial/Production Staff

    John McHale Editorial Director Military Embedded Systems PICMG Systems & Technology jmchale@opensystemsmedia.com

    Jerry Gipper Editorial Director VITA Technologies jgipper@opensystemsmedia.com

    Curt Schwaderer Editorial Director Embedded Computing Design cschwaderer@opensystemsmedia.com

    Joe Pavlat Editorial Director PICMG Systems & Technology jpavlat@opensystemsmedia.com

    Brandon Lewis Assistant Managing Editor Embedded Computing Design PICMG Systems & Technology Industrial Embedded Systems blewis@opensystemsmedia.com

    Lisa Daigle, Assistant Managing Editor Military Embedded Systems ldaigle@opensystemsmedia.com

    Amanda Harvey, Assistant Editor VITA Technologies Military Embedded Systems aharvey@opensystemsmedia.com

    Monique DeVoe, Managing Editor Embedded Computing Design DSP-FPGA.com mdevoe@opensystemsmedia.com

    Sally Cole, Senior Editor Military Embedded Systems scole@opensystemsmedia.com

    Konrad Witte Senior Web Developer

    Steph Sweet, Creative Director

    David Diomede, Creative Services Director

    Joann Toth, Senior Designer

    Jake Rojas, Graphic Designer

    OpenSystems Media Editorial/Production Staff

    Corporate

    Subscriptions www.opensystemsmedia.com/subscriptions

    Tom Varcie Senior Account Manager tvarcie@opensystemsmedia.com

    Rebecca Barker Strategic Account Manager rbarker@opensystemsmedia.com

    Eric Henry, Strategic Account Manager ehenry@opensystemsmedia.com

    Ann Jesse, Strategic Account Manager ajesse@opensystemsmedia.com

    Susan MacLeod, Strategic Account Manager smacleod@opensystemsmedia.com

    Kathleen Wackowski, Strategic Account Manager kwackowski@opensystemsmedia.com

    Christine Long Vice President clong@opensystemsmedia.com

    Asia-Pacific Sales Elvi Lee Account Manager elvi@aceforum.com.tw

    Regional Sales Managers Barbara Quinlan, Southwest bquinlan@opensystemsmedia.com

    Denis Seger, Southern California dseger@opensystemsmedia.com

    Sydele Starr, Northern California sstarr@opensystemsmedia.com

    EMEA Sales Gerry Rhoades-Brown gerry.rhoadesbrown@husonmedia.com

    Reprints and PDFs republish@opensystemsmedia.com

    Sales Group

    Patrick Hopper, Publisher phopper@opensystemsmedia.com

    Karen Layman, Business Manager

    30233 Jefferson St. Clair Shores, MI 48082 Tel: 586-415-6500

    www.opensystemsmedia.com

    Rosemary Kristoff, President rkristoff@opensystemsmedia.com

    Wayne Kristoff, CTO

    Emily Verhoeks, Financial Assistant

    16626 E. Avenue of the Fountains, Ste. 201 Fountain Hills, AZ 85268 Tel: 480-967-5581

    Tel: 586-415-6500 subscriptions@opensystemsmedia.com

    800-36-PC104 (800-367-2104) sales@diamondsystems.comdiamondsystems.com

    1GHz AMD Fusion G-T40E CPU, 1GHz AMD G-Series eKabini SOC, or 1GHz i.MX6 single/quad core CPUs

    Up to 2GB of DDR3 SDRAM 5 USB 2.0 ports, 4 serial ports 1 Gigabit Ethernet, 1 SATA port mSATA flashdisk & PCIe MiniCard socket Dual channel 18/24-bit LVDS, VGA, DDI 4 12-bit A/D, 10 DIO, 4 PWMs, 2 counters 5VDC and 6-32V DC supply PCI-104 & PCIe/104 I/O expansion PC/104 form factor 4.55 x 3.775 -20C to +71C and -40C to +85C

    The Quantum COM-based SBC offers scalable performance, high feature density, and long life support due to its use of interchangeable QSeven COMs. Its 3-in-1 design offers SBC, data acquisition and DC/DC power supply functionality in the compact PCIe/104 form factor.Latching connectors, wide tem perature operation, and high resistance to shock and vibration allow it to excel in harsh environ-ments, such as vehicle applications.

    NEW: Quantum PCI/104-Express SBC

    The Perfect Fit for Imperfect Environments

    Long Life SBC Family for Rugged Embedded

    Applications

    2 y Summer 2014 | PC/104 and Small Form Factors

  • small MATTERS By John McHale, Editorial Contributor

    www.smallformfactors.com

    Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UASs) are typically smaller than manned aircraft, and as a result often have stricter Size, Weight, and Power (SWaP) requirements in their avionics, sensor pay-loads, and other systems. The lower SWaP requirements com-bined with a push toward open architectures and commonality resulting from cuts in Department of Defense (DoD) funding make the military UAS market a perfect fit for PC/104 and other Small Form Factor (SFF) suppliers.

    PC/104 technology is used across unmanned aircraft plat-forms including command and control, ground stations, and payloads, says Stephen St. Amant, Director of Marketing at RTD Embedded Technologies, Inc. (State College, Pa.) RTD has been serving the unmanned systems market for many years and we see PC/104 use only growing in this sector. It is a perfect match of technology to an application because it sits in that spot between [Commercial-Off-the-Shelf] COTS and custom.

    PC/104 and SFF products are used in a variety of UAS applica-tions, says G.T. Hilliard, Applications Engineer at WinSystems (Arlington, Texas). Some integrators use the technology for computing-intensive applications such as video processing, while other lower-end applications take advantage of the low power of Atom processors on SFF designs, he adds.

    While its available off-the-shelf, PC/104 is also flexible and scalable due to its stackable and modular nature, giving UAV integrators multiple configuration options depending on their requirements, St. Amant says. PC/104s SWaP advan-tages also make the technology attractive for military SWaP-constrained UAS platforms.

    A DoD report, titled Unmanned Systems Integrated Roadmap which adds a C to SWaP, not for cost but for cooling states that the DoD wants to reduce the size, weight, and power consumption of military platforms, as does the consumer elec-tronics business, because large SWaP-C impedes mobility and raises maneuvering costs. According to the report, miniatur-ization generally enables smaller systems and, when combined with more persistence, often minimizes investment, weight, and power consumption. The report, a 25-year roadmap for unmanned systems, can be read at http://www.defense.gov/pubs/DOD-USRM-2013.pdf.

    The report also foresees the trend toward modularity in payload designs continuing thanks to open standards, because modu-larity allows plug-and-play capabilities in joint and combined architectures, making upgrades easier.

    Recent budget cuts have forced a drive toward commonality across DoD platforms; this roadmap confirms that trend, calling for more use of open standards and interface definitions to mitigate interoperability challenges with unmanned systems communication infrastructures. The report says enforcement of open standards and government-owned data rights will promote the leveraging of common components and facilitate reuse among heterogeneous unmanned system platforms.

    In other words, suppliers that produce COTS hardware and software are well-positioned to weather the current economic challenges in the military market, and even thrive in the long run, as embedded signal processing and open architecture-based computing solutions will likely dominate unmanned system Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance (ISR) payload development.

    While the current military unmanned systems market is a bit flat and should remain so for the near future from a platform level, the DoD will still be spending money to sustain and upgrade these current platforms and their sensor payloads, which means more opportunities for PC/104, SFF, and other COTS suppliers.

    We can have platforms for 10 to 15 years and upgrade the sensors, communications, and weapons systems to meet the standoff detection and ISR requirements and then focus on meantime between replacement for system elements such as communications, EO/IR, and others, said Ron Stearns, Research Director at G2 Solutions (Kirkland, Wash.), in the fall issue of Military Embedded Systems. It is a flat market and if flat is the new up, then there is sustainability from a DoD per-spective. If you bend metal and make airplanes, it is going to be a tough road; but if you make command-and-control tech-nology, flight controls, communication technology, and sen-sors, and the business model continues to open up, it could be a time of opportunity for you. The need for ISR is not going away. Even as CENTCOM winds down, ISR missions will be needed in AFRICOM and USPACOM after that.

    While military programs, and DoD ones especially, dominate unmanned system use and development today, that will prob-ably not be the case 25 years from now. Commercial appli-cations, as well as civilian and consumer use of unmanned technology, will eventually surpass that of the military. The roadmap authors say that commercial use of unmanned sys-tems will be good news for U.S. taxpayers because increased commercial use of unmanned system technology could reduce the price point of these systems for the military. All of this is good news for PC/104 and SFF suppliers.

    Military UAS market ideal for PC/104 & SFF designs

    PC/104 and Small Form Factors | Summer 2014 y 3

  • 12 ACCES I/O Products, Inc. USB embedded I/O solutions Rugged, industrial strength USB

    13 Acromag The complete package5 AMD What you dont see is as impressive as what you do 23 Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI)

    The leading show on unmanned systems and robotics is within your reach

    8 Creative Electro

Recommended

View more >