optimizing facebook ads july 2011 - presented by dave kerpen
DESCRIPTION
TRANSCRIPT
![Page 1: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/1.jpg)
Optimizing Facebook Ads:
How to Measure Success of Facebook Ads
Presented by Dave Kerpen CEO Likeable
July 20, 2011
Use hashtag #likeable
![Page 2: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/2.jpg)
• Intro to Facebook Ads• Hypertargeting Your Audience• Cost of Facebook Ads• Facebook Insights
What’s In Store:
chaustrophobic
![Page 3: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/3.jpg)
Get Likeable Today!
likeablebook.com
@likeablebookfacebook.com/likeablebook
Learn More!
![Page 4: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/4.jpg)
Work with Likeable!
Find Out More at Likeable.com
![Page 5: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/5.jpg)
Intro to Facebook Ads
#likeable
![Page 6: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/6.jpg)
•Drive traffic
• Increase “Likes”
• Raise awareness
•Hypertarget ideal audience
Why Use Facebook Ads
![Page 7: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/7.jpg)
Elements
• Picture
• Title (25 characters)
• Body (135 characters)
![Page 8: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/8.jpg)
Creating a FB Ad Choose the page
youwant the ad to be for
Selected between Ads or Stories
Choose the tab the ad will land on
135 characters worthof creative text
The image or logoyou would like to use
![Page 9: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/9.jpg)
Ask a Question
![Page 10: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/10.jpg)
Call to Action
![Page 11: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/11.jpg)
Use Compelling Images
Hypertargeting Your Audience
#likeable
![Page 12: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/12.jpg)
Target by: Location
![Page 13: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/13.jpg)
Target by: Demographic
![Page 14: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/14.jpg)
Target by: Interest
![Page 15: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/15.jpg)
Target by: Education
![Page 16: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/16.jpg)
Target by: Job Title
![Page 17: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/17.jpg)
Target by: Company
![Page 18: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/18.jpg)
The Result:
![Page 19: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/19.jpg)
Precise Interest Targeting
• Target by “likes and interests”
• Example to target cat lovers
• Facebook helps you find relevant keywords with suggestions
![Page 20: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/20.jpg)
Broad Targeting
• Target larger demographics
• Prevent targeting from becoming tedious
• Easy to create and reach difficult demographics
![Page 21: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/21.jpg)
Target Through Connection
![Page 22: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/22.jpg)
Example
![Page 23: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/23.jpg)
Advanced Connection Targeting
![Page 24: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/24.jpg)
Nano-Targeting
![Page 25: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/25.jpg)
Cost of Facebook Ads
#likeable
![Page 26: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/26.jpg)
Campaigns, Pricing, Scheduling
![Page 27: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/27.jpg)
Pay for Impressions
![Page 28: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/28.jpg)
Pay for Clicks
![Page 29: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/29.jpg)
Ad Status
Ads are either active, paused, or pending review from Facebook.
![Page 30: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/30.jpg)
Facebook Insights
#likeable
![Page 31: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/31.jpg)
The Ads are Running…
Now what?!
![Page 32: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/32.jpg)
Metrics: Impressions
Impressions = Number of People who saw the ad
![Page 33: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/33.jpg)
Metrics: Frequency
Frequency = Avg. Number of times each person
saw the ad
![Page 34: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/34.jpg)
Metrics: Click Through Rate
Click Through Rate (CTR) = # of Clicks divided by
# of Impressions
![Page 35: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/35.jpg)
Metrics: Cost Per Click
CPC = Cost Per Click
![Page 36: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/36.jpg)
Metrics: CPM
CPM = Cost Per 1000 Impressions
![Page 37: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/37.jpg)
Metrics: Connections
Connections = The number of people who liked
your Page, RSVPed to your event, installed your app
within 24 hours of viewing or clicking on a
Sponsored Story or ad.
![Page 38: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/38.jpg)
Reporting
![Page 39: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/39.jpg)
Cost Per Fan
Calculating the Cost of a Fan: Spent Per Day / Actions = Cost Per Fan
95.60 / 524 = 0.18
18 cents per fan!
![Page 40: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/40.jpg)
Cost Per Fan•The Wall Street Journal stated in February that the average CPL is $1.07
•Mashable stated on 7/18 that the average cost per click rose again climbing close to 62% this year!
•Webtrends shares stats from January about CTR and CPL comparing them to a year ago
http://on.wsj.com/qdCA8Lhttp://on.mash.to/roMvwvhttp://on.mash.to/n3jpuj
![Page 41: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/41.jpg)
Conversion Rate
Calculating the Conversion Rate: Connections / Clicks = Conversion Rate
853 / 962= 86%
86% of people who click the ad convert to fans
![Page 42: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/42.jpg)
Variables Affecting Cost Per Fan
• Alter your payment strategy based on outside variables
• Holidays can increase cost per click and cost per “like” because of a cluttered marketplace
• High Traffic Times such as Back-to-School and the Start of Spring can also increase costs
![Page 43: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/43.jpg)
Refreshing Content and Ads
• Sometimes a Facebook ad can become stale
• Consider changing the image or text
• Something new and compelling can lead to new “likes”
• Revolving Content and Pictures – Change often
![Page 44: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/44.jpg)
Refreshing or Changing Targets• All ads and brands are different
• Successful targeting is not always OBVIOUS
• Create ads and campaigns to do specific purposes
• Types of additional targeting• Similar Interest• Competitors• Location Based• Industries• Employees
![Page 45: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/45.jpg)
They Clicked the Ad! Now What?
![Page 46: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/46.jpg)
Welcome Tab Tie in
![Page 47: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/47.jpg)
Content of Page
![Page 48: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/48.jpg)
Ad Leads to Relevant Content
![Page 49: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/49.jpg)
Examples of Great Ads
![Page 50: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/50.jpg)
Wrap Up
• Make your ad headline, copy, + photo engaging and enticing!
• Hypertarget your audience!
• Use Facebook Insights to measure success!
• Once you get the Likes, provide great content on your Fan Page!
![Page 51: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/51.jpg)
![Page 52: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/52.jpg)
Likeable’s Mission
To leverageleverage social media and word of mouth marketing to create
more transparent, responsive, likeablelikeable companies, organizations
and governments.
![Page 53: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/53.jpg)
How Likeable Works
![Page 54: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/54.jpg)
Who Likeable Works With
Select Clients:•Verizon•1-800-Flowers•Neutrogena•Adobe•Entenmann’s •Penguin Books•HarperCollins•The Pampered Chef•Restaurant.com
![Page 55: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/55.jpg)
Reach Us At:
likeable.com
facebook.com/likeablemedia
@LikeableMedia
![Page 56: Optimizing Facebook Ads July 2011 - Presented by Dave Kerpen](https://reader033.vdocuments.site/reader033/viewer/2022051611/54b5a2614a7959400b8b458c/html5/thumbnails/56.jpg)
likeable.comlikeablebook.com
Engage with me @DaveKerpen on Twitter
Ask us questions @ Facebook.com/LikeableMedia
Or, email me anytime [email protected]
Thank You/ Grand Prize/ I Love Feedback
#likeable