Slide 1
WorkshopOct. 19, 2009Elias [email protected]
AgendaUnderstanding the MarketUnderstanding Your Web Presence / BusinessMaking choices decisions on your approach and strategy
We Will NOT CoverHow to setup an AdWords accountBilling / account managementPayments processingTechnical detailsEtc
I.Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)
Demographics are Dead
Wunderman Report How to Think Digital
Your Market isAny group of people who are actively researching a product you offer
Wunderman Report How to Think Digital
Why Keywords?People search alone usuallyUsers are not forced to searchSearch is not a selection between alternatives its an expression of desire
User IntentConsider the following keywords:
CameraDigital cameraDigital camera modelsDigital camera price comparisonCanon powershot sx20 best deals
Another ExampleGPSGPS navigationGarmin GPS navigationGarmin car GPS navigationGarmin nuvi 660Buy Garmin nuvi 660
Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)
AdWords Keyword Tool
Keyword ToolMarket Analysis (Market Shares)Consumer Segmentation Campaign Structure
Market SharesQuizz:
Which is the most popular car?
BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Ferrari, Porsche
Enter each keyword and analyze results
Car Brand Market SharesCar BrandQueries / MonthMarket ShareBMW9,140,00040.7%Toyota5,000,00022.3%Mercedes3,350,00014.9%Ferrari2,740,00012.2%Porsche2,240,00010.0%22,470,000100.0%
Deep Diving Into Each Keyword: example (games)
Export the DataKeywordsQueries / month[games]16,600,000[addicting games]5,000,000[free games]3,350,000[free online games]3,350,000[funny games]2,740,000[online games]2,740,000[video games]2,740,000[flash games]1,500,000[pc games]1,500,000[computer games]1,220,000[fun games]823,000[racing games]823,000[games online]673,000[shooting games]673,000[download game]550,000[download games]550,000[free game downloads]550,000[free game]450,000[free online game]450,000[game online]450,000
The Art: Spotting Trends / SegmentsKeywordsQueries / monthCategory[games]16,600,000generic[addicting games]5,000,000addicting[free games]3,350,000free[free online games]3,350,000free / browser[funny games]2,740,000funny[online games]2,740,000browser[video games]2,740,000video[flash games]1,500,000brower[pc games]1,500,000computer[computer games]1,220,000computer[fun games]823,000funny[racing games]823,000action[games online]673,000browser[shooting games]673,000action[download game]550,000computer[download games]550,000computer[free game downloads]550,000computer[free game]450,000free[free online game]450,000browser / free[game online]450,000browser
Segments of GamesCategoryQueries%Generic16,600,00035.5%Browser9,163,00019.6%Addicting5,000,00010.7%Computer4,370,0009.4%Free3,800,0008.1%Fun3,563,0007.6%Video2,740,0005.9%Action1,496,0003.2%Total: 46,732,000100.0%
Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)
Insights for Search
Facebook vs. MySpace
Regional Interest
Insights for Search is based on percentages NOT absolute queries
Queries for a keyword divided by: Total queries in country
Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)
Competition Organic (Natural)
Natural Search ResultsWhich sites are they visiting when they search? What is my target audience being offered right now? Visit those sites and compare what they offer versus what you are offering
Competition Paid(AdWords)
Sponsored LinksWho am I competing with?How many competitors are there? How tough is the competition? Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? Use the preview tool
Competition (Paid)AdWords Preview Tool
Understanding The Market (Summary)Understand two main parties: Your target audiencea. keyword tool (market shares, user segmentation)b. insights for search (trends, comparisons)(both tools will be combined in one soon)2. The competition a. natural (organic)b. paid (AdWords)
II.Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not
Types of Websites (Actions)
What do I want my users to DO?
Media / ContentArticles, videos, photos, news, etc
Usually free content, ad supported
Main goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors
eCommerce / TransactionalProducts, services, subscriptions, etc
Selling products is the main revenue source
Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value
Lead GenerationServices / products that cant be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)
Qualified leads who contact you become customers
Main goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead
User-Generated Content / InteractivityUsers create content and share it, you provide the platform
Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model
Main goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing
Other TypesDirectoriesSearch enginesSupport websites
My WebsiteWhat type is it? How many types of actions do I have? How do actions differ from section to section?
Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not
Content AuditGet a full audit of articles, pages, products, and all content on the site
Calculate percentages
Compare with the market
The Market vs. Your WebsiteThe MarketMy Websites Content
Your content / products / offering must reflect the market desires and trends
How to Check?Number of pages for each segmentNumber of people dedicated to each segmentBudget allocationVisual real estate allocation
Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not
Visual Real Estate AuditNavigational items on all pagesText linksFooter linksBanners for internal advertising (ratios)
Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not
Web Analytics (before launching your campaigns)Where are people spending time on my site? Which pages are popular?Which pages are performing better? What are the most popular actions?
Where to send usersThe best performing pagesThe most popular sectionsAsk them to perform the most successful tasksFix underperforming sections/pages/actions before sending users to them
Understanding Your Website (summary)Determine type of website (lead generation, ecommerce, content, etc.)Determine specific actions you want people to performPerform a content auditCompare site with market needs and desiresUse analytics to spot the best sections of your site
III.Choices, Decisions, StrategiesTargeting Your AudienceWriting Effective AdsPerformance Measures
Targeting Your AudienceKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and managedDevicesDemographics
Geographical Targeting
Language Targeting
Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses
Keyword Match TypesBroad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop
Phrase match: coffee beansExact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans
Keyword Match TypesExact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for
Negative: -brazillian Helps make sure you are eliminating content you dont have
Time of the Day / Day of the Week
Google Search vs. Search Partners
Content Placement
Devices and DemographicsDevices:
Shows ads on desktops and / or mobile devices with full browsers like the iPhoneDemographics:
Only available on sites that have enabled this
Writing Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages
Ads Relevant to KeywordsEach ad group should be focused on a topic
Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords
BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the userThey are what users care about
Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc
FeaturesHow your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation
Examples: 32 screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc
Calls to ActionLeads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users
Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc
Using Keywords in AdsKeywords are highlighted on results pagesBoosts relevancy of ads
Different Landing Pages
Measuring Performance1,000,000 impressions
10,000 clicks100conversions1%Click-Thru Ratio1%Conversion RateAverage CPC: $0.10Total cost: 10,000 x 0.1 = $1,000Cost per conversion: $1,000 / 100 = $10
Measuring Beyond AdWordsWeb AnalyticsCompare campaignsCompare keywords Compare ad groupsCompare ad positionCompare landing pages
Choices, Decisions, Strategies (summary)TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and managedDevicesDemographics
Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages
MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Measuring performance after the click
Thank you