adwords research, segmentation, targeting, strategies

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WorkshopOct. 19, 2009Elias [email protected]

AgendaUnderstanding the MarketUnderstanding Your Web Presence / BusinessMaking choices decisions on your approach and strategy

We Will NOT CoverHow to setup an AdWords accountBilling / account managementPayments processingTechnical detailsEtc

I.Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)

Demographics are Dead

Wunderman Report How to Think Digital

Your Market isAny group of people who are actively researching a product you offer

Wunderman Report How to Think Digital

Why Keywords?People search alone usuallyUsers are not forced to searchSearch is not a selection between alternatives its an expression of desire

User IntentConsider the following keywords:

CameraDigital cameraDigital camera modelsDigital camera price comparisonCanon powershot sx20 best deals

Another ExampleGPSGPS navigationGarmin GPS navigationGarmin car GPS navigationGarmin nuvi 660Buy Garmin nuvi 660

Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)

AdWords Keyword Tool

Keyword ToolMarket Analysis (Market Shares)Consumer Segmentation Campaign Structure

Market SharesQuizz:

Which is the most popular car?

BMW, Mercedes, Toyota, Ferrari, Porsche

Enter each keyword and analyze results

Car Brand Market SharesCar BrandQueries / MonthMarket ShareBMW9,140,00040.7%Toyota5,000,00022.3%Mercedes3,350,00014.9%Ferrari2,740,00012.2%Porsche2,240,00010.0%22,470,000100.0%

Deep Diving Into Each Keyword: example (games)

Export the DataKeywordsQueries / month[games]16,600,000[addicting games]5,000,000[free games]3,350,000[free online games]3,350,000[funny games]2,740,000[online games]2,740,000[video games]2,740,000[flash games]1,500,000[pc games]1,500,000[computer games]1,220,000[fun games]823,000[racing games]823,000[games online]673,000[shooting games]673,000[download game]550,000[download games]550,000[free game downloads]550,000[free game]450,000[free online game]450,000[game online]450,000

The Art: Spotting Trends / SegmentsKeywordsQueries / monthCategory[games]16,600,000generic[addicting games]5,000,000addicting[free games]3,350,000free[free online games]3,350,000free / browser[funny games]2,740,000funny[online games]2,740,000browser[video games]2,740,000video[flash games]1,500,000brower[pc games]1,500,000computer[computer games]1,220,000computer[fun games]823,000funny[racing games]823,000action[games online]673,000browser[shooting games]673,000action[download game]550,000computer[download games]550,000computer[free game downloads]550,000computer[free game]450,000free[free online game]450,000browser / free[game online]450,000browser

Segments of GamesCategoryQueries%Generic16,600,00035.5%Browser9,163,00019.6%Addicting5,000,00010.7%Computer4,370,0009.4%Free3,800,0008.1%Fun3,563,0007.6%Video2,740,0005.9%Action1,496,0003.2%Total: 46,732,000100.0%

Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)

Insights for Search

Facebook vs. MySpace

Regional Interest

Insights for Search is based on percentages NOT absolute queries

Queries for a keyword divided by: Total queries in country

Understanding The MarketKeyword ResearchKeyword Tool Insights for SearchCompetition (Organic)Competition (AdWords)

Competition Organic (Natural)

Natural Search ResultsWhich sites are they visiting when they search? What is my target audience being offered right now? Visit those sites and compare what they offer versus what you are offering

Competition Paid(AdWords)

Sponsored LinksWho am I competing with?How many competitors are there? How tough is the competition? Will I need to revise my targeting strategy? Use the preview tool

Competition (Paid)AdWords Preview Tool

Understanding The Market (Summary)Understand two main parties: Your target audiencea. keyword tool (market shares, user segmentation)b. insights for search (trends, comparisons)(both tools will be combined in one soon)2. The competition a. natural (organic)b. paid (AdWords)

II.Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not

Types of Websites (Actions)

What do I want my users to DO?

Media / ContentArticles, videos, photos, news, etc

Usually free content, ad supported

Main goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors

eCommerce / TransactionalProducts, services, subscriptions, etc

Selling products is the main revenue source

Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value

Lead GenerationServices / products that cant be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)

Qualified leads who contact you become customers

Main goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead

User-Generated Content / InteractivityUsers create content and share it, you provide the platform

Created content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business model

Main goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing

Other TypesDirectoriesSearch enginesSupport websites

My WebsiteWhat type is it? How many types of actions do I have? How do actions differ from section to section?

Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not

Content AuditGet a full audit of articles, pages, products, and all content on the site

Calculate percentages

Compare with the market

The Market vs. Your WebsiteThe MarketMy Websites Content

Your content / products / offering must reflect the market desires and trends

How to Check?Number of pages for each segmentNumber of people dedicated to each segmentBudget allocationVisual real estate allocation

Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not

Visual Real Estate AuditNavigational items on all pagesText linksFooter linksBanners for internal advertising (ratios)

Understanding Your SiteTypes of Websites / ActionsContent AuditVisual Real Estate AuditWhat is Working and What is Not

Web Analytics (before launching your campaigns)Where are people spending time on my site? Which pages are popular?Which pages are performing better? What are the most popular actions?

Where to send usersThe best performing pagesThe most popular sectionsAsk them to perform the most successful tasksFix underperforming sections/pages/actions before sending users to them

Understanding Your Website (summary)Determine type of website (lead generation, ecommerce, content, etc.)Determine specific actions you want people to performPerform a content auditCompare site with market needs and desiresUse analytics to spot the best sections of your site

III.Choices, Decisions, StrategiesTargeting Your AudienceWriting Effective AdsPerformance Measures

Targeting Your AudienceKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and managedDevicesDemographics

Geographical Targeting

Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses

Keyword Match TypesBroad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations, synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop

Phrase match: coffee beansExact string with other keywords before or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans, get coffee beans

Keyword Match TypesExact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact string of characters is searched for

Negative: -brazillian Helps make sure you are eliminating content you dont have

Time of the Day / Day of the Week

Google Search vs. Search Partners

Content Placement

Devices and DemographicsDevices:

Shows ads on desktops and / or mobile devices with full browsers like the iPhoneDemographics:

Only available on sites that have enabled this

Writing Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages

Ads Relevant to KeywordsEach ad group should be focused on a topic

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for the userThey are what users care about

Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc

FeaturesHow your product helps me achieve the benefitsSpecific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

Examples: 32 screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc

Calls to ActionLeads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc

Using Keywords in AdsKeywords are highlighted on results pagesBoosts relevancy of ads

Different Landing Pages

Measuring Performance1,000,000 impressions

10,000 clicks100conversions1%Click-Thru Ratio1%Conversion RateAverage CPC: $0.10Total cost: 10,000 x 0.1 = $1,000Cost per conversion: $1,000 / 100 = $10

Measuring Beyond AdWordsWeb AnalyticsCompare campaignsCompare keywords Compare ad groupsCompare ad positionCompare landing pages

Choices, Decisions, Strategies (summary)TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match typeTime of day / Day of week Search / search partnersContent: automatic and managedDevicesDemographics

Effective AdsAds relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages

MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Measuring performance after the click

Thank you

[email protected]