web analytics spring 2010
TRANSCRIPT
WEB ANALYTICSMarch 30, 2010
NYU Internet Marketing Strategies
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Goal of Most Marketing Sites
E-Commerce - Amazon, Sephora, Buy.com, Screenstyle
Lead Generation - Insurance, Service Companies, Real Estate
Advertising - YouTube, CollegeHumor.com, HuffingtonPost.com
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Web Analytics
Web Analytics Measures the Performance of Your Website and all Online (and perhaps Offline) Marketing and Advertising Efforts
We Measure the Website using KPIs. Key Performance Indicators.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Key Performance Indicators (KPI)
Increasing Number of Visitors
Higher Conversion Rate (Transactions/Visitors)
Increasing Revenue
Increasing Number of Subscribers to Newsletter
Increasing Number of Demo Downloads
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Define your goalsI want to get more __________
SalesLeadsEmail signupsPhone CallsViewers
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
PRR – Project Rate of Return
How much money can you spend on internet marketing to remain profitable?15%? 25%? 10?
For every dollar you spend on marketing efforts, what is your revenue goal?Better than ROI because ROI negates expenses such as overhead, salaries, etc.
PRR is generally determined by Finance but you can use industry best practices also.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
AO – Average OrderAverage Order should increase
Raise pricesIncrease average # of items
You may also like:Complementary products e.g. shoes and socks
UpsellFor just $50 more you can double your memory
You can assign dollar values to leads, phone calls, email signups, downloads, etc.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
(LV)Lifetime ValueMultiply AO (Average Order) by number of annual purchases and/or length of customer relationship.Big stores like Amazon and Zappos know you’ll probabl come back over and over again. So your lifetime value is high.Hair salons, gyms, yoga studios, and many service companies should also focus on lifetime value.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
CPA – Cost per ActionHow much money can you spend for each completed action by a visitor to your website?Multiply LV x PRRExamples: A health club has a 1-year contract of $1000. The average member leaves after 1.8 years so the LV = $1800. The PRR is 15%$1800 x 15% = $270 CPA
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
ConversionHow many leads out of 100 convert to your goal?100 people click on your display ad. 10 purchase a product. 10% conversion.1000 people visit your site after hearing a radio spot. 10 call you and 1 person becomes a cutomer. 1% conversion.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Cost per LeadHow much can you spend per lead and remain profitable?Multiply the conversion rate by CPA.From an earlier example, the health club has a CPA of $270. If a conversion rate is 10%, then the club can spend $27 for every lead.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
AMAT
ACQUIRE VISITORS
MEASURE INTERACTIONS
ANALYZE RESULTS
TEST IMPROVEMENTS
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
What is the ROI of measuring your ROI?
Assume your site gets 100,000 visitors a month and your conversion rate is 0.5% with an average $ of $200. Your site makes 500 * $200 = $100,000 per month.
Assume you can make changes that raise your conversion rate to 0.7% with an average $ of 220.
Your site makes an average $154,000. Extra $54,000 per month.
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Conversions3% Example
Visitors = Potential Conversions
Bounced VisitsNon-Bouncing Visitors
Abandoned3%
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Enterprise Leaders
Omniture
Unica
Coremetrics
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Small to Midsize Businesses
WebTrends (also Enterprise player)
Google Analytics
Yahoo! Analytics (formerly Index Tools)
ClickTracks
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Things that Can Go WrongCode Installed Incorrectly
Firewalls can block tags
Some tags only measure when pages are requested and not when activities are completed.
Corporate sites block cookies
Same visitor logs in from multiple computers
One IP address for multiple persons
Robots can multiply figures
Cookies Expire (long purchase cycle business is skewed)
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
E-Commerce KPI(How does website perform?)
Visitor Volume
Average Conversion Rate
Average Order Value
Average Per Visit Value
Average ROI
% Revenue from New Visitors
New Customer on First Visit Index
Tuesday, March 30, 2010
Marketer KPI(How does marketing perform?)
% Visits by Medium Type
% Goal Conversion Rate by Medium Type
% Visits by Campaign Type
%Goal Conversion by Campaign Type
Goal Conversion Index by Campaign
Average ROI by Campaign Type
% New vs. Returning Visitors
% New vs. Returning Customers
Tuesday, March 30, 2010