unleash your inner publisher - paul gillin's bma chicago presentation 6/1/11
DESCRIPTION
The Internet gives us the capacity to publish and widely disperse our best thinking and to become thought leaders in our markets. So why don't more business marketers seize this opportunity? Very often it's because they feel uncertain about their ability, or their company's ability, to produce engaging and interesting content. But it's not as difficult as it may seem. With planning and a little creativity, b-to-b marketers can create content that inspires response and generates action. Learn the tricks professional publishers use and how to apply them.TRANSCRIPT
Twitter: @pgillin
Unleash Your Inner Publisher
Paul Gillin
Author:
The New Influencers
Secrets of Social Media Marketing
Social Marketing to the Business Customer
Page 2
The Media in Collapse
2001 2009 Change
Woman’s Day 1.61M 410,000 -74%
Redbook 556,300 154,600 -72%
Playboy 522,800 203,200 -71%
Country Living 380,200 134,900 -64%
Nati Enquirer 1.65M 591,300 -64%
Reader’s Digest 750,000 270,000 -64%
ESPN Magazine 54,350 25,200 -63%
US Magazine Circulation
Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57
Reduction in US newsroom staffs since 2001: 45%
Growth in NBC prime time audience, 2008: -14.3%
Age of average network evening news viewer: 63
Page 3
Facebook is the fastest growing consumer product in history
93% of B2B buyers use search to begin the buying process
Direct-mail spending is expected to decline nearly 40% by 2014
80% of IT decision-makers say word of mouth is their most important source when making buying decisions
Google Processes 38,000 search queries every second
YouTube accepts 37 hours of new video every minute
New Media Facts
Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010
MarathoMarathon n
schedule schedule http://bithttp://bit.ly/waCM.ly/waCM
cc
Shared bread Shared bread pudding w/ pudding w/
@skydiver at @skydiver at Mother's. My life Mother's. My life is now complete.is now complete.
How to How to Write a 1 Write a 1 Minute Minute Video Video
Marketing Marketing Script Script
http://ow.ly/http://ow.ly/17xJE17xJE
I'm at Palm Beach I'm at Palm Beach International International
Airport (PBI, West Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach). Palm Beach).
http://4sq.com/4Gehttp://4sq.com/4GeLz0Lz0
Best press Best press photos of photos of
2009 2009 http://om.lhttp://om.l
y/fNhWy/fNhW
I can't find I can't find my good my good
black pants.black pants.
Comparing Top Comparing Top Chef Masters Chef Masters Restaurants Restaurants
#topchef #topchef http://is.gd/8q4hhttp://is.gd/8q4h
NN
How To Get Well How To Get Well Prepared For The Prepared For The Website Creation. Website Creation. http://bit.ly/aTitVChttp://bit.ly/aTitVC
I'm at Palm Beach I'm at Palm Beach International International
Airport (PBI, West Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach). Palm Beach).
http://4sq.com/4Gehttp://4sq.com/4GeLz0Lz0
Comparing Top Comparing Top Chef Masters Chef Masters Restaurants Restaurants
#topchef #topchef http://is.gd/8q4hhttp://is.gd/8q4h
NN
The New Media Landscape
5
Page 6
If You’re Not Helping, They’re Not Listening
Page 7
Mainstays of Social Media
BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010
Page 8
• Value-drive decision-making
• Group consensus
• “Bet the business”
• Long-term relationships
• Audience is knowledgeable, engaged, serious
• Intense need for information
How is B2B Different?
Page 9
“In supply chain, laughter really is the best medicine.”
-Kirsten Watson, director of corporate marketing.
An Integrated Approach
Kinaxis’ Supply Chain
Expert Community
Page 10
An Integrated Approach
Page 11
Demonstrate Authority
Today, you can take your message directly to your constituents without relying upon media intermediaries
And why would you not want to do that?
Page 12
Planning is Essential
Tool Wk. 37 Wk. 38 Wk. 39 Wk. 40 Wk. 41
Blog Topic Topic Topic Topic Topic
Newsletter Topic
Video Topic
White Paper
Topic
Webcast Topic Topic
Podcast Topic Topic
Chat Topic Topic
Press Release
Topic Topic Topic
Color coding denotes responsible departments/people
Page 13
Stagger Activities
White Paper Promotion Timeline
Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Home page link
E-mail newsletter
E-mail blast
Blog promotion
Twitter messaging
Page 14
Look for Impact
Twitter: @pgillin
What Should Be Our Social Media Strategy?
Twitter: @pgillin
Well, Do You Have a…
Hammer strategy?Plumbing strategyLandscaping strategy?Copier strategy?Stapler strategy?
Social Media are just a bunch of tools, and tools are useless unless you have a specific need for them.
Page 17
Customer
Prospect
Quality Contact
SalesLead
Impression
Case study | Video testimonialGuided tour | Product demoWebinar | Press coverageGlossary | ROI calculator
Free trial/ConsultationHelp desk | Chat | ForumTraining | Usage tips Contact information
White paper | eBookAnalyst report | PublicationBlog | Article | Tweet | Podcast
Source: NowSpeed Marketing, Inc.
Tools for the Funnel
A Four-Step Process
Business Goal
Measurement Tactics Tools
Increase Sales Generate Leads Improve
Awareness Create Thought
Leadership Launch Product Counter Negative
Perception Test Ideas Create Channels Reduce Support
Costs
Leads Media Mentions Speaking Opps Positive Sentiment Net Promoter
Score Customer
Satisfaction Share of Market Service Calls Time to Market Channel Sales
Contact More Prospects
Media Relations Educate
Customers Meet Prospective
Channel Partners Publicize
Reference Accts Move Customer
Service Online Form Trade
Association Advertise
Blog Hire PR Agency Join Trade Groups Video Podcasts Customer Self-
Service Site SEO TV Advertising Newsletter Hire Speaker
Bureau Facebook Fan
Page Online Customer
Community
Using Tools Without Strategy is Like Buying a Hammer and Looking for Nails to Hit With It. Use This Process
Review and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and Revise
Twitter: @pgillin
B2B Blogging
Twitter: @pgillin
What Are Blogs Good For?
• Timely, frequently updated information• Multiple media types• Single voice• Fixed display• Flexible organization• Search engine performance
Twitter: @pgillin
Just One Guy
Estimated monthly visitors: 73,000
Google Indexed pages: 5,970
Alexa ranking: Top .15%
Linking domains: 13,085
Twitter followers: 7,336
New York Times citations: 338
Computerworld citations: 360
InformationWeek citations: 169
Newsletter subscribers: 150,000
Twitter: @pgillin
Link Love
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Uses in Business
ReinforceBrand
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Uses in Business
Thought Leadership
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Uses in Business
End Run Media
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Uses in Business
Define Culture
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Educate Prospects
Uses in Business
Twitter: @pgillin
Uses in Business
Build Trust
Page 29
Lead Gen Excellence
73 blogs
17 bloggers
600% jump in leads
Top quality
“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”
Rick Short, Marcom Director
Twitter: @pgillin
Headline
Title/Subtitle
Subheads
Fixed pages
RSS feed
Search
Invitation to subscribe
Twitter: @pgillin
B2B SEO
insurance
directors and officers insurance
directors and officers insurance maine
time
sear
ch v
olum
e
Focus on Long Tail Keywords. Source: Eric SchwartzmanTwitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Choose keywords that are “just right”
• Don’t target keywords that are “too hot” (they multiple meanings or are poor matches for your site)
• Avoid keywords that are “too cold”—too few searchers look for them
• Use the language the searcher uses: An Italian tour operator targets “milano tours” but Americans say “milan tours”
• Walmart calls them “associates,” but everyone else calls them “employees.”
• A computer maker thinks “notebook” sounds classier than “laptop,” but customers don’t.
• Someone looking for “lodging” seeks something different than someone searching for “hotel.”
32
Source: Mike Moran
Twitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillinSource: HubSpot 2011 State of Inbound Marketing Study
Twitter: @pgillin
Frequency Counts
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Inbound Links Are the Secret Sauce
Source: Eric SchwartzmanTwitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Blogging Success Factors
Have a clear focus Update frequently Speak distinctively Have a point of view Surprise and delight Link to get links Use all the media you can Educate and assist Ask for feedback
Encourage and respond to commentsComment elsewherePlay reporterSerializeUse themesGive stuff awayComplement with photos, podcasts & video
Twitter: @pgillin
Ready to Create
What’s Your Topic?
People have abundant choice; pick your spots
It’s fine to stray from your core topic, but keep 2/3 of entries relevant
Dedicate yourself to becoming THE expert in your chosen area
Tell people where you specialize
Branding
Search
Health Care
Customer Care
Analytics
Technology
Strategy
Twitter: @pgillin
Tricks Of The Trade
• Encourage and respond to comments• Comment elsewhere• Play reporter• Serialize• Use themes• Give stuff away• Complement with photos, podcasts & video
Twitter: @pgillin
Know Your Reader
Professional? Enthusiast? Peer? Novice? Investor? Competitor? Media?
You can’t communicate effectively with an audience you don’t know. When you write, visualize your reader.
It may help to post a picture of that person on your office wall!
Twitter: @pgillin
Find Your Voice
• Read mainstream media and other bloggers and comment upon them
• Frame issues in a context that reflects your expertise• Be offbeat and occasionally outrageous• Write in a voice that feels right to you• Think conversation, not lecture• Use multiple media• Mix it up: Top 10 lists, predictions, best & worst, lists
Twitter: @pgillin
Write in Pictures
Instead Of…
Released
Flew
Cut
Mistake
Tall
Experienced
New
Fell
“All day every day, objects with the proportions of hewn firewood and the heft of cinder blocks hurtle along a conveyor, dive into a steel chute, disappear down a black hole — and emit what sounds like a startled scream.”
From a WSJ story about the declining popularity of Grape
Nuts cereal:
How About…
Unleashed
Soared
Slashed
Blunder
Lanky
Grizzled
Fresh
Plummeted
Twitter: @pgillin
Generating Ideas
Page 43
Feed Reader is a Topical Newswire
Consolidate Feeds by Topic to Monitor
Markets of Interest
@pgillin
Page 44
Trending Topics
InfoSec Island Tag Cloud
TechMeme
TechCrunch Enterprise
Google Insights for Search
Social Tools Can Help You Choose Topics for Your Communications
@pgillin
Other Idea Foundries
Get angry Aggregate other opinions Tell a story Conduct a poll Make a list Predict something, then defend Recommend what you love Discover and share Serialize
Imagine having written a great article
Use keyword searches Interview someone Visit a quote site Talk to children Consult a notebook Write case studies Write about your week Create a top 10 list
Twitter: @pgillin
Making Your Point
Focus, Focus, Focus
Ask yourself, “What’s the post about?”
Say what you’re going to say, say it, then say what you just said.
Make your point at the outset
Limit the number of points you make in each entry
Invite feedback
Rule of Thumb: If you have more than two key points, create a new entry
Secrets of Clear Writing
Use everyday words Write as you speak Write it like a letter Keep sentences short Use voice recognition or
dictate into a recorder Use Word readability stats Ask a friend/spouse/ child to
review your work
“I didn't have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a
long one instead.”--Blaise Pascal
Get Angry
And that doesn’t mean flaming or name-calling.Use anger to get the creative juices flowing and stimulate
creative prose.
The Baltimore Sun's John McIntyre condemning restroom devices that periodically emit a spritz of perfume:
"It does nothing to cancel out the underlying smell of the premises, merely adding one offensive aroma atop another. It’s rather as if someone went to the zoo and spritzed the bonobos with Dollar Store perfume."
Twitter: @pgillin
Approaches to An Article About Engagement
Quiz: Test Your Engagement IQ Skeptic: Why Marketers Fail at Engagement Case Study: How One Company Does it Right Contrarian: Think You’re Engaged? Think Again How To: Five Steps to Improving Customer Engagement First Person: How I Learned to Engage Comparison: How Two Companies Approach Customer
Engagement Q&A: Five Common Questions About Engagement Data: Study Shines New Light on Customer Engagement Outrageous: Your Engagement Strategy Sucks Humorous: Engagement Haiku Offbeat: Engagement: The Movie
Twitter: @pgillin
Provide Context
“There are between four and a half million and five million Muslims in the United States. That’s about twice as many Muslims as Episcopalians.”
John McIntyre, You Don’t Say
“A competency hearing for fifth-grade teacher Lucienne Mohammed, “is likely to take between forty and forty-five hearing days—eight times as long as the average criminal trial in the United States.”
Steven Brill, The Rubber Room, The New Yorker
“It is projected that the amount of digital information that will be created in 2010 could fill 75 billion fully-loaded 16 GB Apple iPads.”
Wikibon, Information Explosion & Cloud Storage
Twitter: @pgillin
Have Some Fun!
OK Labs uses "social objects," or distinct icons, to create a memorable association.
“It’s been a way for people to feel that they know the company before doing
business with the company,” says Marti Konstant, VP of marketing
Twitter: @pgillin
Write Provocative Headlines
Current: Let’s Get Engaged!
Other Possibilities:• Five Goals for Customer Engagement• Redefining Engagement• Engagement Scorecard• How Engaged Are Your Customers?• Why Marketers Fail at Engagement• Failing to Engage? Here’s Why
Twitter: @pgillin
Write Provocative Headlines
“Control Heating and Cooling Costs Remotely From Computer or Smartphone”-3M press release
How About…“Home too Cold? Let Your Smart Phone Be the Thermostat”“Brrrring it On! Smart Phones = Warm Hearts and Homes”
Walmart Latin America Announces "Sustainagility" as Key to Efficient and Profitable Growth
-Walmart press releaseHow About…
What’s “Sustainagility?” Walmart Latin America Says It’s the FutureEver Hear of “Sustainagility?” You Will.
I Just Can’t Get Started
Start in the middle Write freeform, then edit Imagine a different scene Start listing bullet points Model someone else’s work Take a walk Tell story to a friend or
colleague
Twitter: @pgillin
Being Visible
Link internally Link externally Use tags, categories Register with aggregators Ask for “link love” Promote outbound links File a site map Bookmark and tweet
Twitter: @pgillin
Video/Multimedia
Twitter: @pgillin
What Is The Video For?
Win new customers Upsell existing
customers Education Company profile Product
demonstration Testimonials Event
Source: GPS PR & Website Design
Twitter: @pgillin
Storyboard and Create A Shot List
Before you start filming, think about what shots you need. This can be as simple as:
• An interview with the business owner• Your product in action• Ask five customers the same question
Source: GPS PR & Website Design
Twitter: @pgillin
Light And Sound
You don’t need fancy lights but turn on ALLavailable light at your venue.
• Film interviews with person facing TOWARDS a window so that the light hits their face.
• For interviews: get away from noise sources, like crowds, machines or outdoor noises like water or traffic.
• Always speak loudly.
Twitter: @pgillin
Editing
• You can do this yourself with tools like iMovie or Adobe Premiere but it is time-consuming.
• We recommend delegating this task to experts. • Shorter videos are better: web videos should ideally be less
than 2 minutes long
Twitter: @pgillin
Learn Lots More
Twitter: @pgillin
Promotion & Measurement
Twitter: @pgillin
Promote Everywhere
Use Every Available Channel to Promote
Twitter: @pgillin
Publish Everywhere
60 million members600 million
members
200 million members
2 billion daily views
20 million daily visitors
100 million members
10 million members
1 million daily visitors
1.5 million daily visitors
Twitter: @pgillin
Republish What You’ve Got
Twitter: @pgillin
New Publishing Lifecycle
Begins as a tweet
Becomes a blog entry
Feeds a podcast
Stokes a white paper
That gets tweeted!
Page 68
These are NOT ROI
Website Visitors
Click-throughs
Store visits
Press coverage
“Buzz”
Employment applications
Retweets
FaceBook friends
Blog comments
Video views
Twitter followers
Impressions
Friends
Coupons distributed
But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!
Page 69
Basic Business Metrics
Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin
Conversion Rate = New Customers/ Visits or Leads
Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value
Page 70
OK, Let’s Make it Real
Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you
Curly is with you for five years
Your profit margin is 10%
Lifetime value of Curly is($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000
Page 71
Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor
Monthly Visitors
10,000
Conversion Rate
.5%
Lifetime Value $5,000
Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000
Value of a Visitor
$25
Page 72
Value of a Blog
Monthly Search Traffic 3,000
Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000
Value of a Visitor $25
Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000
Monthly Blog Expense $6,000
ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000
316%
Page 73
Value of Twitter
You send 50 tweets a month… Generating 1,000 visitors to your
website… 2% of whom become leads… 5% of whom become customers.
Therefore, the value of a tweet is:
(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100
Page 74
How Emerson Has Done It
Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Strategy - Expand Digital Footprint
Pictures
Presentations Videos
Podcasts
Source: Jim Cahill
Twitter: @pgillin
Blog Has Made Emerson Experts Findable
Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Emerson People And Brands In Twitter
Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Twitter for Tuning In to Themes
Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin
Page 79
And the Leads Come In
“I have an e-mail on my wall from a company that asked us to bid on a nine-figure deal next to a sign that asks ‘Is there any value in blogging?’”
Jim CahillBlogger, Dir. Of Social Media
Emerson Process Experts
Twitter: @pgillin
Twitter: @pgillin
Thank You!
Paul Gillin
508-656-0734
Site: gillin.com
Blog: paulgillin.com
Twitter: pgillin
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