The Experience Called Grief

Download The Experience Called Grief

Post on 16-Jan-2016




0 download

Embed Size (px)


The Experience Called Grief. Gary D. Smith, MAEd. Five Stages of Normal Reaction to Loss. Denial Anger Bargaining Depression Acceptance. Photo by Ken Ross. Death brings a flood of feelings and emotions to each person in their own way!. Feeling. - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


<ul><li><p>The Experience Called GriefGary D. Smith, MAEd.</p></li><li><p>Five Stages of NormalReaction to LossDenialAngerBargainingDepressionAcceptancePhoto by Ken Ross</p></li><li><p>Death brings a flood of feelings and emotions to each person in their own way!</p></li><li><p>Feeling</p><p>A sense of knowing or an impression on the mindMicrosoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Emotion</p><p>A mental and bodily reaction accompanied by a strong feelingMicrosoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Stages of GriefDenialAcknowledging the lossAngerExperiencing the pain </p><p>BargainingExperiencing the pain Re-adjusting to the lossDepressionFinding a way to move on </p></li><li><p>Acknowledging the Loss May be Hard </p><p>Shock DisbeliefConfusionAnxietyPanicMicrosoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Children Acknowledging the LossAnger FrustrationQuestioningGuiltCopying the behaviors of others</p><p>Global Star software</p></li><li><p>Adults acknowledging the lossAngerFrustrationGuiltBlaming othersA sense of loss of control</p><p>Microsoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Disorientation PhaseDespair Lowered self-esteemPre-occupationLonelinessState of disequilibriaTearfulMicrosoft clipartThe Faces of Grief are Different in Each Person</p></li><li><p>Bargaining / Experiencing the PainDisorientationFearLoss of ControlState of LimboFrustration VulnerableMicrosoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Depression / With the Pain</p><p>HelplessnessHopelessnessResentmentBitternessEmptinessSadness</p><p>Global Star Software</p></li><li><p>Bargaining and Adjustment( Adaptation ) Re-adjusting to the loss Struggling with new roles and responsibilities Envy Yearning Missing</p><p>Microsoft clipartMicrosoft clipart</p></li><li><p>Acceptance a Sense of HealingDeveloping a new environmentNew RelationshipsNew ActivitiesNew HopeA Sense of HealingGlobal Star Software</p></li><li><p>Acceptance Reconciling The LossHope for the futureGrowth from the trialHealing from the heartRemembering with less painGlobal Star Software</p></li><li><p>Rainbows Give Us Hope For The FutureAnd Build Bridges Over Our Trials.</p><p></p></li><li><p>There Is Life After Grief</p><p>*While these are the stages each person will be different and may experience these in a different order or bounce from one to another. All feelings are okay and need to be addressed with empathy for the individual. Crying and tears are a normal part of death and each person should be given permission to do so. Men and boys especially need to be encouraged to let the tears out to help cleanse the body of the emotions. Volcanoes are not a pretty sight and emotions held inside become the same element.*All feelings and emotions are okay. What we do with the feelings and emotions should be appropriate and not dangerous to ourselves or others.*Children act differently than adults in the face of death. Some children do not want to talk about it. Some will be happy and playing with friends and the cousins even at the funeral. Some will copy the behaviors of others because they think they should be the same. It is important to let children talk at their own pace. Some children may not want to see the dead person in the casket.*It is important to be aware of those not showing any outward emotion, lack of energy to continue the normal routine. The passive grievers are usually the next casualty of the grief of the moment. *Now the person has accepted the reality and wants to go forward building a legacy of their loved one. It is now easier to remember the good deeds and while there is still pain it is not the deep hurting pain. This may take months or even a few years. *While we all experience grief in a variety of ways our lives go on and our loved ones want us to go on! The sun does come up every morning and no two sunrises are the same! The beauty of life. </p></li></ul>


View more >