measuring social roi: the cio's role

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Paul Gillin Measuring Social ROI: The CIO’s Role Author: The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer

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Social media marketing may be all the rage, but few companies are measuring results with any level of precision. The research would indicate that only 14% of senior marketers whose companies use social network marketing say they are tying their efforts to financial metrics. With social media becoming so engrained in the way companies do business, measuring its contribution on a wing and a prayer is no longer enough. CIOs need to help enforce disciplined approaches to website analytics, synchronizing metrics to capture and track leads and building 360° views of the customer.

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Page 1: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Paul Gillin

Measuring Social ROI: The CIO’s Role

Author:

The New Influencers

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Page 2: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleTime is Right

37%

81%

58%

65%

68%

65%

67%

84%

37%

30%

28%

30%

29%

53%

17%

13%

2%

10%

4%

6%

4%

5%

4%

2%

0% 20% 40% 60% 80% 100% 120%

Increased market share

Decreased costs

Improved talent retention

Improved speed to market/innovation

Improved product/service quality

Improved collaboration with partners

Improved brand or stock value

Improved marketing/sales effectiveness

Advantage No Impact Disadvantage

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Perceived Value of Social Business

Page 3: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleJust Another Channel?

Marketing and branding41%

Marketing Communications (e.g., Public Relations)40%

Distributed throughout the organization17%

Sales16%

Customer service11%

Education and Training7%

Human Resource10%

6%Centre of Excellence

Research and Development (R&D)8%

Who Has Primary Responsibility for Social Business

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Page 4: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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17%

81% agree that socialengagement hastangible benefits

• Project management• Innovation• Collaboration• Efficiency gains• Cost savings

Yet only 17% have responsibility well-distributed throughout the organization

Executives See Greatest Benefit of social engagement in…

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Page 5: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

How We Share Influence

Consumer influence channels

Source: Universal McCann Erickson

PRE MEDIA AGE

Talk face to face

Talk to shop worker

SOCIAL MEDIA AGE

Personal blog

Social network page

Widgets

Photo sharing site

Chat rooms

Message boards

Video sharing site

Comments on blogs

Comments on websites

Viral emails

Wish lists

Ratings on retail sites

Reviews on retail sites

Auction websites

Social Bookmarking

Chat room

Price comparison sites

Social shopping sites

Consult a professional

Readers Letters

Phone in; TV / Radio

Talk to shop worker

Talk face to face

Phone call

SMS

Email

Instant Messenger

MASS MEDIA AGE

Consult a professional

Readers letters

Phone in; TV / Radio

Talk to shop worker

Talk face to face

Phone call

Page 6: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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Twitter: @pgillin

Customer Service Matters

Service Topic Consumers who have not used social media for customer service

General population

Consumers who have used social media for customer service

Additional amount consumers will spend for excellent service

11% 13% more 21% more

Have not completed intended purchase because of poor customer experience, previous 12 months

49% 55% 83%

Number of people customers tell about good customer service experience

9 15 42

Number of people customers tell about poor customer service experience

17 24 53

Page 7: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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“Companies that are highly effective communicators had 47% higher total returns to shareholders over the last five years compared with firms that are the least

effective communicators.”

Towers Watson 2009/2010 Communication ROI Study Report

Page 8: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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“Our data show that fully networked enterprises are not only more likely to be

market leaders or to be gaining market share but also use management practices that lead to margins higher than those of companies

using the Web in more limited ways.”

McKinsey 2010 survey of 3,249 executives

Page 9: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Service With a Smile

• 55% of respondents became a customer of a company because of its reputation for great customer service

• 40% began purchasing from a competitive brand simply because of their reputation for great customer service

• 85% of consumers said they would be willing to pay more over the standard price in order to ensure a

superior customer experience.

- RightNow Technologies 2010 Survey of 2,217 North American consumers

Page 10: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Responsibility distributedthroughout the organization

Responsibility assignedto one department

There are business benefitsto encouraging customersto talk publicly – whether

positive or negative81%agree

67%agree

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit Survey of 329 Business Leaders, 2012

Page 11: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Adoption of social channels is strong; with 59% of organizations having adopted Twitter and 60% adopting Facebook, and almost 85% of those who have adopted one, have adopted both together. However, adoption seems to have been the easy part. Justification, integration, and strategic measurement continue to be the most challenging aspects of implementing new social channels.

- ThinkJar/Sword Ciboodle survey of 400 customer service practitioners,

2012

Page 12: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Disconnect

Other

Analysts and pundits

Customer co-creation

Consultants/integrators

Customer research

Internal team

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90%

When selecting a new channel for customer service, who drives the decision?

Source: ThinkJar/Sword Ciboodle, 2012

Page 13: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 20110123456789

10

Social Media Crises Reaching Mainstream Media

Facebook14%

Com-munity

22%

Twitter18%

Blog20%

YouTube22%

Other4%

Where Crises Originate

Data source: Altimeter Group, 2011

Companies are quick to deploy the latest social media technology, yet most have not prepared for the threat of social media crises…we found that more than three-fourths could have been diminished or averted.

--Altimeter Group

New Channels of Complaint

Page 14: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

Hot Prospects

Qualified Prospects

Suspects

New Clients

The Sales Funnel

Image Credit: Retail Sales Systems, LLC

Page 15: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleFlipping the Funnel

15

Respond & Iterate

Invite Engagement

Listen

Go Where the People Are

Page 16: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Source: Monitor

And Flattening It

Page 17: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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Twitter: @pgillin@pgillin

Page 18: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Today, Integration Means “Everything”

0

25

50

75

100Value of Specific Marketing Communications Programs

Public Relations

Internet Word of Mouth/Viral

In-store/Point of Sale

Direct response advertising

SocialNetworking

MobileMarketing

General Advertising

Search EngineMarketing

SalesPromotion

EventMarketing

Sponsorship BrandedEntertainment

VideogameAdvertising

10 of 14 achieved 50% top 2 box score

Source: Association of National Advertisers, 2010

Page 19: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Room for Improvement

Socia

l Netw

ork M

arketing

Mobile

Adverti

sing

Email M

arketing

Direct

mail m

arketing

0%

5%

10%

15%

20%

25%

30%

% of Companies Measuring ROI

Source: Columbia University/ American Marketing Association 2012

Page 20: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleOpportunities in Listening

QuoraLinkedIn Answers

Page 21: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

38 Minutes on Twitter

Page 22: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

What the Heck Are They Thinking?

Epson reported that revenue per visitor nearly doubled after the reviews were launched.

Page 23: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleWhat We Usually Measure

Hits

Visits

Bookmarks

Unique Visitors

Page Views

Likes Followers

Traffic

Clicks

These Indicate Activity but NOT

Engagement

Page 24: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleTerms of Engagement

Repeat Visits

Shares

Bookmarks

Subscriptions

Employment applications

RetweetsComments

Downloads

ForwardsPages/visit

ReviewsPhone calls

Lead forms

Ratings

Page 25: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleMeasuring the Immeasurable

Lift Studies

Store visits

Headline Counts

Employment applications

Speaking Invitations

Net Promoter Score Coupons redeemed

If You Can Measure It, You Can Calculate Its ROI

Page 26: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

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March 30Prospect reaches website

through search query "small business accounting," views four pages and subscribes to

newsletter.

April 4Prospect responds to e-mail

invitation for "Choosing Small Business Accounting Software"

webcast 30 minutes after e-mail is sent.

April 9Prospect attends webcast, stays

45 minutes and submits a question related to legal

practices.

April 10Prospect clicks link in webcast

summary e-mail to visit product description page. He downloads PDF of product brochure about

software for legal practices.

April 12Prospect downloads trial

version of your small business accounting software for legal

practices.

Oh, the Things That You Know!

Thanks to Web Analytics…

Page 27: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleERP for Marketing

Page 28: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleCRM Goes Social

Page 29: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleStagger Activities

White Paper Promotion Timeline

Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Home page link

E-mail newsletter

E-mail blast

Blog promotion

Twitter messaging

Page 30: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleLook for Impact

Page 31: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

Lead Gen Excellence

73 blogs

17 bloggers

600% jump in leads

Top quality

“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”

Rick Short, Marcom Director

@pgillin

Page 32: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleA Reader is a Lead

Each blog has the option to ask a question of the engineer

@pgillin

Page 33: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleBasic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin

Conversion Rate = New Customers/ Visits or Leads

Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value

Page 34: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleOK, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you

Curly is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Curly is($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

Page 35: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleApplying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors 10,000

Conversion Rate .5%

Lifetime Value $5,000Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000

Value of a Visitor $25

Page 36: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleValue of a Blog

Monthly Search Traffic 3,000

Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000

Value of a Visitor $25

Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000

Monthly Blog Expense $6,000

ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000 316%

Page 37: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title styleValue of Twitter

You send 50 tweets a month… Generating 1,000 visitors to

your website… 2% of whom become leads… 5% of whom become

customers.

Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

Page 38: Measuring Social ROI: The CIO's Role

Click to edit Master title style

Twitter: @pgillin

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin

Thank You!