ioh webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

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Increasing Direct Bookings Tips & Best Practices Sept 16 th 2014 Frank Reeves Founder, CEO @AvvioTweets

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Page 1: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Increasing Direct Bookings Tips & Best Practices Sept 16th 2014

Frank Reeves Founder, CEO

@AvvioTweets

Page 2: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

About Us

+£10m p/m Hotel Direct Bookings

11 years In Partnership

Our Mandate:

DELIVER GROWTH IN DIRECT BOOKINGS FOR CLIENTS

350 Live Clients (UK, IRL)

Page 3: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf
Page 4: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Who do we work with?

Page 5: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

The rising costs of customer acquisition

‘Since 2009, customer acquisition costs, i.e., all

sales, marketing and distribution, have outpaced

hotel revenue growth’

Hospitality Asset Managers Association, August 2014

Page 6: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

The rising costs of customer acquisition

•  Distribution costs have risen twice as quickly as hotel revenue.

•  If current trends are maintained, the hotel industry is severely

exposed if (or when) volumes slow down – so action needs to be taken

now to reduce distribution costs.

•  Brands more reliant on commissionable/third-party bookings will

struggle for profitability.

•  Funds should be spent on enhancing the direct brand.

Page 7: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

How?

Page 8: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Agenda

Part 1 Growing Direct Business

Traffic

Website

Booking Engine

Part 2 The Changing Landscape

Mobile

Payments

Part 3 Tips, Takeaways, Q&A

Page 9: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Part 1

Growing Direct Business

@AvvioTweets

Page 10: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Direct Business

£

Traffic

Website Booking Engine

Page 11: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Direct Business

£

Traffic

Website Booking Engine

Page 12: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Traffic

What are the primary sources of traffic for hotels?

Organic Traffic Unpaid search engine listings 40%

Paid Traffic Google Ads, Meta Search etc. 30%

Direct Direct browser, auto-complete etc. 15%

Referral Listings, representation etc. 10%

Other Email, Affiliate Campaign etc. 5%

Page 13: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Organic Traffic

SEO Best Practices for Hotels

Content is King

•  Content is main focus for SEO

•  Growing depth of relevant/interesting content key to online visibility

•  Social Sharing of Good Quality content

Engagement – Healthy User Signals

•  High Click Through Rate (CTR)

•  Lower Bounce Rates

•  Longer Time On Site

Technical Performance

•  Speed: fast load times essential

•  Content keywords: relevance and expansion

•  Presence of meta tags: such as <title> and <description>

Page 14: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Speed

57% of hotel shoppers will wait 3 seconds or less before abandoning

because of speed alone

Less than 1 second

1 second

2 seconds

3 seconds

More than 4 seconds

Expectation

Abandonment Threshold

5%

2%

15%

8%

30%

16%

33%

31%

14%

43%

PhoCusWright Travel Site Performance study

Page 15: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Paid Traffic

Pay Per Click (PPC) Best Practices for Hotels

Use Cost of Acquisition (COA) Approach •  Understand total cost of direct bookings

•  Aim for 10% Cost of Acquisition from PPC Channel

•  Traffic Budget = Conversion Rate x ABV x COA - ie. 2% x £200 x 10% =£0.40

•  Channels: Google, Bing, Facebook, Affiliate Marketing, Twitter etc.

Meta Search •  Cheaper than OTAs

•  Expensive traffic, Conversion is essential

•  Channels: Trivago, TripAdvisor, Google HPA, Kayak, Hotels Combined, Kelkoo etc.

Mirror Marketing http://www.tnooz.com/article/online-travel-agencies-mirror-marketing-PPC/

•  OTAs driving up cost of brand name traffic by 30%+

•  Ensure position 1 for brand name

•  Use Book Direct & Promote Benefits

Page 16: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Direct Business

£

Traffic

Website Booking Engine

Page 17: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

April 10th 2014

Website

Is Booking.com the most persuasive Website in the World?

Page 18: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Website

Book Direct Benefits

•  Best Rate Guarantee, Benefits, Selling Techniques, Active not Passive

Full Screen Imagery: focus on visual sell

•  Use TripAdvisor reviews to reinforce positives through images

A/B Testing

Responsive Design

•  Mobile first, Universal Analytics

Special Offers that Deep-Link to improve conversion

Web Design Best Practices for Hotels

Page 19: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Book Direct Benefits

Page 20: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

A/B Testing

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A/B Testing

Goal Increase of 44.14%

Page 22: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Heatmap Testing

Page 23: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Responsive Design

Page 24: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Direct Business

£

Traffic

Website Booking Engine

Page 25: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Booking Abandonment

98%

Page 26: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Selling Techniques & Book Direct Benefits

Benefits – Guarantee – Urgency - Value

Page 27: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Booking Conversion Funnel

Page 28: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Understand Lost Business

Page 29: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Price Only Test

A/B Testing through Booking Engine

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Price + Value Test

A/B Testing through Booking Engine

Goal Increase of 70.36%

Page 31: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

•  A/B Testing

•  Heat-Mapping

•  Market Segmentation testing

•  Booking Engine Design

•  Rate Effectiveness & Optimization

•  Display: image size, book now etc.

•  Sales messaging

•  Personalisation

•  How many Rooms/Rates

•  Booking Path

•  Optimized Navigation

Multi-Variate Testing

Conversion Optimisation

Page 32: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Direct Business

£

Traffic

Website Booking Engine

Page 33: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Part 2

The Changing Landscape

@AvvioTweets

Page 34: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Mobile is Growing, Desktop declining

Growth on queries in

Q4 2013 in the Hotels category 12% -6%

Desktop Queries *

+46% Smartphone Queries *

+64% Tablet Searches *

* Year on year within the same period

Mobile - Google Report

Page 35: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Mobile – Our Data Set

50% Traffic coming from Mobile

Tablet traffic 30% higher

than Smartphone

9am - 5pm 4x more bookings than 8pm-10pm

pro-rata, overall traffic higher

in evenings driven by mobile

46days Lead in on Mobile vs. 61 on desktop

69% Conversion on Tablet vs. 31% on Mobile

compared to desktop conversion

87% Email now opened on Mobile

overall open rates are definitely dropping

Page 36: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Payments

Page 37: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Part 3

Tips, Takeaways, Q&A

@AvvioTweets

Page 38: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Tips and Take-Aways

1. Visitors

•  40% Organic Traffic •  30% traffic from PPC •  Cost of Acquisition approach to PPC. 10% Channel •  MetaSearch Channels •  Speed: Apdex.org or Pingdom)

2. Website

•  Book Direct Benefits & Selling Techniques •  A/B Testing •  Imagery & Responsive Design

3. Booking Engine

•  Conversion Optimisation •  Conversion Funnel, KPIs & Abandonment •  A/B Testing •  Book Direct Benefits & Selling Techniques

4. Mobile

•  Now 50% of Traffic •  Consider PPC & Email •  Both a conversion and a research/influence channel •  Payments

Page 39: IOH Webinar sept 2014 complete for pdf

Thank You

@AvvioTweets

e [email protected]

t 078 24428400

w www.avvio.com