Download - How to Rank in Google
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How to Rank in Google
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How consumers search
Local listings
Paid listings
Web SEO
Measuring results
Hello!
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Two OctobersHelps local businesses get customers through online marketing.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adulau/4242287504
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Consumers Primary Source to
30%
20%
10%
SearchEngines Print YP
Internet YP
Local Search Other
Find Local Businesses
Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
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Why Consumers
30%
20%
10%
BusinessLocation
Select a Local Business
Most Familiar
Ratings & Reviews
First Result
Has Print YP Ads
Source: TMP Directional Marketing/15miles & comScore, Local Search Usage Study, Q3 2010
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e Search Engines We Use
50%
20%
70%
60%
40%
30%
10%
Google Yahoo! Bing Ask AOL
Source: Hitwise, 4 weeks ending 01/01/11
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Local Listings
Web Listings
Paid Listings
Paid
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How We Look At Search Results
2010, ionadas local LLC and Sentient Services, LP www.ionadas.com, www.sentientservices.com
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What About Me? What Should I Focus On?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/chitrasudar/2785759455/
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It Depends...
Image attribution on last slide
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Local Listings
http://www.flickr.com/photos/lorenzinhos/1410985867/ Local SEO
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Local Listings
Paid Listings
Paid
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Local SEO
Claim Your Listing
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http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
Mmm donuts!Next stop: bakery
Research the keywords people use to find businesses like yours.
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Local SEO
Pick the right keywords
adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal
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Pick the right keywords
Local SEO
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Local SEO
Get Reviews
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Local SEO
Judys Book (273K)
Local.com(32M)
Dex (5M)
YahooLocal(65M)
Yelp (18M)
Citysearch (34M)
Mapquest (78M)
YP.com (26M)
InsiderPages (5M)
BingLocal(48M)
Superpages(16M)
MerchantCircle (9M)
Google Local (381M)
Get Reviews
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Local SEO
Judys Book (273K)
Local.com(32M)
Dex (5M)
YahooLocal(65M)
Yelp (18M)
Citysearch (34M)
Mapquest (78M)
YP.com (26M)
InsiderPages (5M)
BingLocal(48M)
Superpages(16M)
MerchantCircle (9M)
Google Local (381M)
Get Reviews
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Local SEO
Judys Book (273K)
Local.com(32M)
Dex (5M)
YahooLocal(65M)
Yelp (18M)
Citysearch (34M)
Mapquest (78M)
YP.com (26M)
InsiderPages (5M)
BingLocal(48M)
Superpages(16M)
MerchantCircle (9M)
Google Local (381M)
Get Reviews
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Get Citations
Local SEO
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Local SEO
Get Citations
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Use your business name, phone number and address consistently
Local SEO
ubl.org
Your citys business directory
Professional associations
Manufacturer websites
Press releases & press coverage
Contributed articles & blogs
Get Citations
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You fit neatly into a known business category
You get foot traffic
You have a shot at position #1
Local SEO
Who is Local SEO for?
Everybody
Claim & complete your place page Especially when...
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Paid Listings
PPC Adshttp://www.flickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661
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Local Listings
Paid Listings
Paid
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Geographic Targeting
PPC
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Turn it On & O
PPC
II can switch it on to hit sales targets or to "ll in gaps in my schedule.
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PPC
pay your way to the top of results
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Long-tail Keyword Targeting
PPC
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ROI
100 clicks generate two conversions, each click costs $1, each conversion costs $50
CPC x Clicks# of Conversions
Cost per Acquisition (CPA) =
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ROI
The Bakery: clicks cost $0.40, 5% (5/100) convert to sales. CPA = $8
Too Much!
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ROI
The Furniture Restorer: clicks cost $2.00, 2% (2/100) convert to sales. CPA = $100
Just Right!
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Who is PPC for?
Businesses that
Have a good idea of the value of a lead
Dont rank well in local SEO
Can afford CPC & management costs
Do business in a region, not just a town
But not so much when ...
PPC
The value of a lead is low
People dont tend to search for what you sell
You have a long sales cycle
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Web SEO
Web SEOhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/zoonabar/154373661
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Local Listings
Paid Listings
Paid
Web Listings
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http://www.flickr.com/photos/tanelteemusk/2966785202/
Mmm donuts!Next stop: bakery
Keyword research benefits local listings, paid listings and web SEO.
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Unique, accurate page titles and meta description tag
Human-readable URLs
Keyword-heavy links
H tags used for important content
Alt tags on images
Keyword-rich domain name
Robots.txt
Quality of other sites you link to
Location in site hierarchy
Page load time
Keyword proximity
Number of links on a page
Frequency of page updates
Domain age
Keyword density
Topic of other sites you link to
Sitemap.xml
No cloaking
No links to web spam sites
Frequent server downtime
Invisible text
Uncrawlable text
Keyword font size
Keyword phrase order
Valid internal links
Intra-site linking
Page file size
URL length
Keyword stuffing
Excessive cross-linking
Updating content too frequently
Excessive javascript
Using frames
Single pixel links
Duplicate content
Low content to code ratio
Keyword prominence
Keyword in alt text
Efficient linking to all pages
Keyword font size
Keyword phrase order
Valid internal links
Intra-site linking
Page file size
URL length
Keyword stuffing
Too many hyphens in URL
Page theming & consistency
Age of page vs. age of site
Overuse of H1 tags
On-Site Factors
Web SEO
Write good quality content.
Write each page to highlight one or two keywords. Go deep.
Important content is text, not graphics. Avoid Flash.
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Use your business name consistently
& always try to get a link
ubl.org
Your citys business directory
Professional associations
Manufacturer websites
Press releases & press coverage
Contributed articles & blogs
Web SEO
Get Inbound Links
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Local results arent shown for some % of your keywords
Youre trying to reach a national audience
Youve got lots of content or products covered on your website
Expertise is an important part of your business
Who is Web SEO for?
Everybody
Cover the basics
Especially when...
Web SEO
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Measuring Results
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Track Ranking
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Measure Trac
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http://www.flickr.com/photos/wapster/914442189/
Measure Revenue
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Local Online MarketingTwitter: @TwoOctobersFacebook: Two Octobers
Blog: www.TwoOctobers.com/blog
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Additional image credits, slide 11http://www.flickr.com/photos/autohistorian/4936499517/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/27745117@N00/3901450063/http://www.flickr.com/photos/thetruthabout/4600646376/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/mr_t_in_dc/2936284329/http://www.flickr.com/photos/dan4th/3107012507/
How to Rank in Google