crash course in google adwords

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CRASH COURSE IN GOOGLE ADWORDS Bjarne Viken - ScaleUp.com.au

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Page 1: Crash Course In Google Adwords

CRASH COURSE IN GOOGLE ADWORDS

Bjarne Viken - ScaleUp.com.au

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INTRODUCTION

ABOUT ME‣ Conversion optimization strategist‣Director of scaleup.com.au‣Help business owners scale

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GOAL: SET UP AN ADWORDS CAMPAIGN

AGENDA‣Select campaign settings‣Create ad groups‣Create ads‣Review ad groups

‣BONUS: Optimize your campaigns

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A VISUAL OVERVIEW OF THE STEPS TO FOLLOW:

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WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?

CRASH COURSE IN GOOGLE ADWORDS

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WHAT IS GOOGLE ADWORDS?

‣ AdWords (Google AdWords) is an advertising service by Google for businesses wanting to display ads on Google and its advertising network. The AdWords program enables businesses to set a budget for advertising and only pay when people click the ads. The ad service is largely focused on keywords.

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WHAT IS A KEYWORD?

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SELECT CAMPAIGN SETTINGS

STEP 1

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CAN YOU TRUST GOOGLE?

CONFLICTS OF INTEREST?‣Google makes 95% of their revenue from Adwords. ‣Google make money when potential customers click‣You make money when the clicks CONVERT to sales or leads

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HOW DOES THIS AFFECT YOUR CHOICES?

EXAMPLES‣“All features” allows you to add ad extensions (gives you more visibility)

‣Removing search partners takes you away from Google Play and Google Maps (less optimal for you?)

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LOG IN TO ADWORDS: GOOGLE.COM.AU/ADWORDS/

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CLICK CAMPAIGN THEN “SEARCH NETWORK ONLY”

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WHY SEARCH NETWORK ONLY?

YOUR OPTIONS:‣Better buying intent than display‣Easy to set up‣Best return on investment?

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PICK YOUR FIRST SETTINGS

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TARGET YOUR CAMPAIGN: FOCUS!

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FOR INSTANCE MELBOURNE!

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WHY IS LOCATION TARGETING SO IMPORTANT?

KEY REASONS‣Save money‣Increase your conversion‣Reduce your risk

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MANUALLY SET YOUR BIDS AND SET BUDGET

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HOW TO SET MANUAL BIDS

KEEP IT SIMPLE!‣Don’t pay more than what a click is worth for your business

‣Conversion Rate x Per Unit Profit = Breakeven CPC‣5% x $30 = $1.5

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HOW DO YOU SET A STARTING BUDGET?

SIMPLE GUIDELINES:‣Average cost per click x 500 to 1,000 clicks = Monthly budget

‣Enough to test the campaign‣Divide your monthly budget with 30.4 (average number of days in a month) - $1,000 / 30.4 = $32.8 per day

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WHY SHOULD YOU USE AD EXTENSIONS?

KEY REASONS‣Provide more relevant contact information to your customers - like phone number or location

‣Direct links to key pages on your site‣Improve conversion

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CLICK SAVE AND CONTINUE

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DO STEP 1 IN GROUPS OF 2

REVIEW YOUR SKILLS ABOUT CAMPAIGN SETTINGS

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CREATE AD GROUPS

STEP 2

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PUT IN URL, NAME AD GROUP AND LOOK FOR KEYWORDS

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WHY IS HAVING A GOOD LANDING PAGE IMPORTANT?

IMPACTS:‣The amount of clicks you get‣How your ad gets ranked on Google

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HOW IS YOUR AD POSITION CALCULATED?

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HOW IS YOUR QUALITY SCORE CALCULATED?

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KEY TIPS FOR THE PAGE YOU ARE DRIVING TRAFFIC TO

KEEP THIS IN MIND:‣Have a clear offer‣Back it up with evidence‣Have a clear first call to action

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SITE TO LEARN FROM: TORKLAW.COM

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HOW TO FIND GOOD KEYWORDS?

SIMPLE TIPS:‣Brainstorm words that are descriptive, specific and relevant to buying

‣Consider that long tail keywords normally convert more‣Stea...eh...learn from your competitors

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EXAMPLE: SEMRUSH.COM

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TOOL: KEYWORDSPY.COM

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TOOL: SPYFU.COM

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TOOL: SIMILARWEB.COM

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HOW TO BEST ADD KEYWORDS

LEARN ABOUT KEYWORD MATCH TYPES‣Defined how the keywords is used to search Google‣Broad match types give more volume‣More specific match types give more targeted traffic

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DIFFERENT MATCH TYPES

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HOW MANY KEYWORDS DO YOU NEED?

TIPS IN NARROWING DOWN KEYWORDS‣Quality over quantity‣Specific over general‣Do you need more than 10-15 per ad group?

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CLICK “CONTINUE TO ADS”

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DO STEP 2 IN GROUPS OF 2

REVIEW YOUR SKILLS ABOUT CREATING AD GROUPS

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CREATE ADSTEP 3

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PUT IN URL, WRITE AD, AND CLICK SAVE

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HOW TO WRITE GOOD ADS?

KEY TIPS:‣Focus on something unique and specific‣Remember your keywords and study your competitors ads

‣Have a clear call to action

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EXAMPLES OF HIGHLY CONVERTING ADS

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DOES THE BEST ADS GET THE MOST CLICKS?

KEY CONSIDERATIONS‣Only pay for the best leads‣Repel cheap skates and free loaders (Put price in the ad?)

‣Google makes money even if you don’t convert

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WRITE SECOND AD AND CLICK SAVE

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HOW MANY ADS SHOULD YOU RUN?

LESS IS MORE‣Test two ads at a time‣Let each get 100-200 impressions‣Go with the winner, and create another variation

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CLICK REVIEW CAMPAIGN

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DO STEP 3 IN GROUPS OF 2

REVIEW YOUR SKILLS ABOUT CREATING ADS

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REVIEW AD GROUPS

STEP 4

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REVIEW AND CLICK REVIEW CAMPAIGN

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PUT IN BILLING INFORMATION TO START

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STOP!!! INSTALL A CONVERSION TRACKING

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DO STEP 4

GO OVER YOUR FIRST ADWORDS CAMPAIGN CHECKLIST

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BONUS: OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS

CRASH COURSE IN GOOGLE ADWORDS

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OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS

OPTIMIZE YOUR KEYWORDS‣Run keyword reports to learn how your keywords perform

‣Compare the CTR of each keyword to the average‣Minimum 100 impressions per keyword (no rash conclusions!)

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RUN KEYWORD REPORTS

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OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS

NO CONVERSION DATA?‣Link Google Adwords to Google Analytics‣Use engagement metrics‣Focus on average session duration and pages per session

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LINKING ADWORDS TO GOOGLE ANALYTICS

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OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS

TESTING TIPS FOR ADS‣Test things like headlines, descriptions and offer‣Reflect on what you can learn from each test‣Identify new ideas from winning and losing ads

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WHAT CAN BE LEARNED FROM THIS TEST?

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OPTIMIZE YOUR CAMPAIGNS

HOW TO IMPROVE YOUR LANDING PAGES‣Learn about conversion optimization‣Change copy based on winning ads‣A/B test copy, length, offer and evidence on the landing page

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CONVERSIONXL.COM/BLOG

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HELPFUL TOOL: VWO.COM

scaleup.com.au

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HOW TO USE VWO

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LET FIRST TIME VISITORS RETURN

REVISIT YOUR VISITORS WITH RETARGETING

‣Serve banner ads to people that have been to your site‣Can cost less and give you a greater return on investment

‣Make sure the banners have clear call to actions

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HOW TO SET UP A RETARGETING CAMPAIGN

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TIPS TO CREATE GOOD BANNERS

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DO IT YOURSELF: CANVA.COM

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UPWORK.COM: CHEAP PLACE TO GET BANNERS

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BONUS STEP

REVIEW YOUR LANDING PAGE

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USEFUL LEARNING RESOURCES

NOT DONE WITH YOU YET!

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COREY RABAZINSKI - GOOGLE ADWORDS FOR BEGINNERS

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JASON MCDONALD - GOOGLE ADWORDS GOTCHAS

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P. MARSHALL - ULTIMATE GUIDE TO GOOGLE ADWORDS

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BRAD GEDDES - ADVANCED GOOGLE ADWORDS

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GOOGLE PARTNERS: https://www.google.com.au/partners

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UPGRADE YOUR NECKTOP

HOW TO READ ONE BOOK A MONTH● Install Kindle on your phone● Put it on flight mode?● Read 5% every day Monday to Friday

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FREE CONVERSION COURSE AND WEBSITE EVALUATION SCALEUPUNI.COM

AVOID LOSING ADWORDS MONEY ON BAD LANDING PAGES