amazon redshift, customer acquisition cost & advertising roi presented with aggregate knowledge

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October 3, 2013 Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI Rahul Pathak, AWS (@rahulpathak) Timon Karnezos, Aggregate Knowledge

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In today's world, consumer habits change fast and marketing decisions need to be made within seconds, not days. Delivering engaging advertising experiences requires real time, high performing architectures that provide digital advertisers the ability to measure and improve the performance of their campaigns and tie them more closely to corporate goals. The insights gleaned from the massive amounts of data collected can then be used to dynamically adjust media spend and creative execution for optimal performance. The AWS Cloud enables you to deliver marketing content and advertisements with the levels of availability, performance, and personalization that your customers expect. Plus, AWS lowers your costs. Join us to learn about how big data and low latency / high performing architectures are changing the game for digital advertising.

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Page 1: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

October 3, 2013

Amazon Redshift, Customer

Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI

Rahul Pathak, AWS (@rahulpathak)

Timon Karnezos, Aggregate Knowledge

Page 2: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

AWS Database Services

Fully managed SQL database service for OLTP

workloads Amazon

RDS

Amazon

DynamoDB

Fully managed NoSQL service for massively scalable,

high throughput, low latency workloads

Amazon

Redshift

Fully managed fast and powerful, petabyte-scale

data warehouse service

Amazon

ElastiCache

Fully managed Memcached-compliant in memory

caching service

Page 3: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Data Warehousing the AWS way

Deploy Easy to provision

Pay as you go, no up front costs

Fast, cheap, easy to use

SQL

Page 4: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Fastest growing service in AWS history

• 1,000+ customers; adding over a hundred a week

• Over 20 partners; adding one a week

• SOC1, SOC2, PCI certification obtained with more on the way

• Available in US East (N. Virginia), US West (Oregon), EU (Ireland),

Asia Pacific (Tokyo), with more regions coming soon

Progress since launch on Feb 14, 2013

Page 5: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• LZO/LZOP compression support

• JSON, Regex, Cursors

• UTF-8 4 byte and invalid character substitution

• CRC32, SHA1, MD5

• Statement and workload queue timeouts

• Time zone support

• JDBC Fetch size

• UNLOAD encrypted files

New features since launch on Feb 14, 2013

Full list: http://docs.aws.amazon.com/redshift/latest/dg/doc-history.html

Page 6: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Common Customer Use Cases

• Reduce costs by extending DW

rather than adding HW

• Migrate completely from existing

DW systems

• Respond faster to business;

provision in minutes

• Improve performance by an

order of magnitude

• Make more data available for

analysis

• Access business data via

standard reporting tools

• Add analytic functionality to

applications

• Scale DW capacity as

demand grows

• Reduce HW & SW costs by an

order of magnitude

Traditional Enterprise DW Companies with Big Data SaaS Companies

Page 7: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Customer acquisition

– Ad spend

– Traffic sources

• Customer behavior

– Clickstream

– Referrals, sharing

– Actions taken

• Lifetime value

– Conversions

– Churn rate

Digital marketing and advertising use cases

Amazon S3

Amazon EMR

Amazon

Redshift

JDBC/ODBC DynamoDB

Amazon RDS

Page 8: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Amazon Redshift Customers

“[Amazon Redshift] took an industry famous for its opaque pricing, high TCO and unreliable

results and completely turned it on its head.”

“Redshift is twenty times faster than Hive…The cost saving is even more impressive…Our

analysts like [it] so much they don’t want to go back.”

“Queries that used to take hours came back in seconds. Our analysts are orders of

magnitude more productive.”

“We saw 50% reduction in costs with 2x improvement in query times.”

“We use Redshift anytime we need fast, interactive analysis.”

Page 9: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Amazon Redshift Customers “When we want to answer a question with Redshift, we just write a SQL query and get an

answer within a few minutes – if not seconds.”

“[We] run queries up to 50 times faster than our current OLAP solution.”

“Customers can get consistent, accurate, and useful data fast - in weeks not months or years.”

“Did I mention it's ridiculously fast? We'll be using it immediately to provide our analysts an

alternative to Hadoop.”

“Team played with Redshift today and concluded it is ****** awesome. Un-indexed complex

queries returning in < 10s.”

Page 10: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Leader Node

– SQL endpoint

– Stores metadata

– Coordinates query execution

• Compute Nodes

– Local, columnar storage

– Execute queries in parallel

– Load, backup, restore via Amazon S3

– Parallel load from Amazon DynamoDB

• Single node version available

Amazon Redshift architecture

10 GigE (HPC)

Ingestion Backup Restore

JDBC/ODBC

Page 11: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Optimized for I/O intensive workloads

• High disk density

• Runs in HPC - fast network

• HS1.8XL available on Amazon EC2

Amazon Redshift runs on optimized hardware HS1.8XL: 128 GB RAM, 16 Cores, 24 Spindles, 16 TB compressed user storage, 2 GB/sec scan rate

HS1.XL: 16 GB RAM, 2 Cores, 3 Spindles, 2 TB compressed customer storage

Page 12: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Amazon Redshift parallelizes and distributes everything

• Query

• Load

• Backup/Restore

• Resize

Page 13: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Query

• Load

• Backup/Restore

• Resize

Amazon Redshift parallelizes and distributes everything

• Load in parallel from Amazon S3 or

Amazon DynamoDB

• Columnar storage, automatic

compression

• Data automatically distributed and

sorted according to DDL

• Scales linearly with number of nodes

Page 14: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Query

• Load

• Backup/Restore

• Resize

Amazon Redshift parallelizes and distributes everything

• Backups to Amazon S3 are automatic, continuous and incremental

• Configurable system snapshot retention period

• Take user snapshots on-demand

• Streaming restores enable you to resume querying faster

Page 15: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Query

• Load

• Backup/Restore

• Resize

Amazon Redshift parallelizes and distributes everything

• Resize while remaining online

• Provision a new cluster in the

background

• Copy data in parallel from

node to node

• Only charged for source cluster

Page 16: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Query

• Load

• Backup/Restore

• Resize • Automatic SQL endpoint

switchover via DNS

• Decommission the source cluster

• Simple operation via AWS Console

or API

Amazon Redshift parallelizes and distributes everything

Page 17: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Extra Large Node (HS1.XL) 3 spindles, 2 TB, 16 GB RAM, 2 cores

Single Node (2 TB)

Cluster 2-32 Nodes (4 TB – 64 TB)

Amazon Redshift lets you start small and grow big

Eight Extra Large Node (HS1.8XL) 24 spindles, 16 TB, 128 GB RAM, 16 cores, 10 GigE

Cluster 2-100 Nodes (32 TB – 1.6 PB)

Note: Nodes not to scale

Page 18: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Price Per Hour for

HS1.XL Single Node Effective Hourly

Price per TB Effective Annual

Price per TB

On-Demand $ 0.850 $ 0.425 $ 3,723

1 Year Reservation $ 0.500 $ 0.250 $ 2,190

3 Year Reservation $ 0.228 $ 0.114 $ 999

Amazon Redshift is priced to let you analyze all your data

Simple Pricing

Number of Nodes x Cost per Hour

No charge for Leader Node

No upfront costs

Pay as you go

Page 19: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• Provision in minutes

• Monitor query performance

• Point and click resize

• Built in security

• Automatic backups

Amazon Redshift is easy to use

Page 20: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

Amazon Redshift continuously backs up your data and recovers from failures

• Replication within the cluster and backup to Amazon S3 to maintain multiple

copies of data at all times

• Backups to Amazon S3 are continuous, automatic, and incremental

– Designed for eleven nines of durability

• Continuous monitoring and automated recovery from failures of drives and nodes

• Able to restore snapshots to any Availability Zone within a region

Page 21: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

• SSL to secure data in transit

• Encryption to secure data at rest

– AES-256; hardware accelerated

– All blocks on disks and in Amazon S3

encrypted

• No direct access to compute nodes

• Amazon VPC support

Amazon Redshift has security built-in

10 GigE (HPC)

Ingestion Backup Restore

Customer VPC

Internal Security Group

JDBC/ODBC

Page 22: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

MTA and Redshift

Understanding the Cost of Customer Acquisition and Marketing ROI

Timon Karnezos | @timonk

The Future of Digital Advertising with Cloud Computing

San Francisco, CA – 10/03/2013

Page 23: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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MTA

vs.

LTA

Framing MTA

Page 24: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Browsing the Web – Monday

Tracking

Impression

(Site A)

Time

Monday

Page 25: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Browsing the Web – Tuesday

Tracking

Impression

(Site A)

Time

Tuesday

Page 26: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Search – Wednesday

Tracking

Impression

(Search)

Time

Wednesday

Page 27: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Convert – Wednesday

Time Conversion

Wednesday

Page 28: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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View Chains by Site

(Site A)

(Search)

Time

Time

Conversion

Wednesday

Page 29: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Properties of the Conversion Chains

(Site A)

(Search)

Time

Time

Position: 3

Day: 2

Position: 2

Day: 1

Position: 1

Day: 0 (same as conv.)

Conversion

Conversion: Wednesday

Chain Length: 3 (touches)

Chain Age: 2 (days)

Page 30: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Last-Touch Attribution (LTA)

Site A:

Search: 0 / 1 = 0.0 Conversions

1 / 1 = 1.0 Conversions

(Site A)

(Search)

Time

Time

Position: 1

Day: 0 (same as conv.)

Conversion

Page 31: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Multi-Touch Attribution – 2 Positions (Touches)

Site A:

Search: 1 / 2 = 0.5 Conversions

1 / 2 = 0.5 Conversions

(Site A)

(Search)

Time

Time

Position: 2

Day: 1

Position: 1

Day: 0 (same as conv.)

Conversion

Page 32: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Multi-Touch Attribution – 3 Positions (Touches)

Site A:

Search: 2 / 3 = 0.67 Conversions

1 / 3 = 0.33 Conversions

(Site A)

(Search)

Time

Time

Position: 3

Day: 2

Position: 2

Day: 1

Position: 1

Day: 0 (same as conv.)

Conversion

Page 33: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Richer model space…

More nuanced…

Adaptable to client’s business!

Why do we sell MTA?

Page 34: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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1. Build user sessions (chains) by site

2. Window over report period

3. Assign credit to sites

4. Aggregate by day

Why is MTA hard?

Daily scale

~109 impressions, cookies

~107 conversions

~104 sites

x 90 per report

Page 35: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is MPP

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Fast

columnar scans

~109 rows in ~10s

Sorting

as main index

100k/s/$ load

Even

work distribution

Cookie ID shards well

Page 36: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is MPP

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Fast

columnar scans

~109 rows in ~10s

Page 37: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is MPP

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Sorting

as main index

100k/s/$ load

Page 38: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is MPP

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Even

work distribution

Cookie ID shards well

Page 39: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is SQL

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Logical

decomposition

CTEs cut complexity

Powerful

aggregates

COUNT DISTINCT works

Window

functions

Market basket is easy

Page 40: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is SQL

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Logical

decomposition

CTEs cut complexity

Page 41: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Example: CTE

WITH chains AS (

SELECT campaign_id, site_id,

DENSE_RANK() OVER

(PARTITION BY user_id, advertiser_id

ORDER BY record_date DESC) AS position

FROM impressions

WHERE record_date >= 'YYYY-MM-DD' AND

record_date < 'YYYY-MM-DD'

)

SELECT campaign_id, site_id, position, COUNT(*) as ct

FROM chains

GROUP BY 1,2,3;

Page 42: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is SQL

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Powerful

aggregates

COUNT DISTINCT works

Page 43: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is SQL

Why is MTA easier with RS?

Window

functions

Market basket is easy

Page 44: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Example: Window Function

WITH chains AS (

SELECT campaign_id, site_id,

DENSE_RANK() OVER

(PARTITION BY user_id, advertiser_id

ORDER BY record_date DESC) AS position

FROM impressions

WHERE record_date >= 'YYYY-MM-DD' AND

record_date < 'YYYY-MM-DD'

)

SELECT campaign_id, site_id, position, COUNT(*) as ct

FROM chains

GROUP BY 1,2,3;

Page 45: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift is EASY

Bigger Picture: Why is X easier with RS?

Credit card

= eval

No reps, no PoC

Operations

made simple

Dashboards rock

Integrations

are outstanding

S3 means no pain

Page 46: Amazon Redshift, Customer Acquisition Cost & Advertising ROI presented with Aggregate Knowledge

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Redshift changed

the game.

http://bit.ly/rs_ak