aligning your community to meet your business goals

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VanillaForums.com Aligning Your Community to Meet Your Business Goals Presented by CMX and Vanilla Forums

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VanillaForums.com

Aligning Your Community to Meet Your Business Goals

Presented by CMX and Vanilla Forums

David SpinksCMX Founder

Community Expert

VanillaForums.com

Mélanie AttiaVP Marketing at

Vanilla

Community Advocate

VanillaForums.com

Agenda

• Redefining the role of community in business• Defining your objectives• Mapping your objectives to the SPACE model• Use cases• Defining community health• Questions

VanillaForums.com

Redefining the role of community management in business

VanillaForums.com

CustomerCommunity

Customer Experience

VanillaForums.com

Investing in community leads to ROI

VanillaForums.com

What is the value of community?

VanillaForums.com

The SPACE Model for

Community Value

S upport

P roduct

A cquisition

C ontent

E ngagement

VanillaForums.com

Support: the community helps other customers with their

questions and needs.

VanillaForums.com

Goals:• Reduce support costs•Get customers the answers more quickly•Defend your brand when needed

Metrics:• Time to get answers•Number of questions answered• Customer happiness (NPS)

VanillaForums.com

Product: the community helps you improve your product by sharing

feedback and ideas.

VanillaForums.com

Goals:• Surface important product feedback and ideas• Improve customer/seller success• Increase customer retention

Metrics:•Number of feedback items or ideas shared•Number of items applied to product• Lifetime value

VanillaForums.com

Acquisition: the community helps your business achieve marketing

and growth goals.

VanillaForums.com

VanillaForums.com

Goals:• Create evangelists•Distribution of content• Curate stories to use in press

Metrics:• Traffic and signups• Conversion to Sales•Number of evangelists and events

VanillaForums.com

Content: the community is contributing the content that

makes up the product.

VanillaForums.com

VanillaForums.com

VanillaForums.com

Goals:•Motivate people to contribute• Scale content creation and development• Reduce costs of content creation

Metrics:•Number of contributions•Quality of content• Content / Code shipped

VanillaForums.com

Engagement: members come together around a common interest

related to your brand or product.

VanillaForums.com

VanillaForums.com

Goals:• Retention and loyalty• Create contributors for other community types

(ambassadors, product feedback, etc)

Metrics:• Return customers• Increased ambassadors• Reduced complaints

VanillaForums.com

The SPACE Model for

Community Value

S upport

P roduct

A cquisition

C ontent

E ngagement

VanillaForums.com

Community Measurement Strategy

Community Health

BusinessObjectives Revenue

VanillaForums.com

Community Health = Growth + Repeat Activity

VanillaForums.com

Measuring Community Health

1. Track the growth/churn of your community

2. Track how often members are coming back and taking repeat actions

3. Optimize content to create a quality experience that rewards members, driving growth and repeat activity

VanillaForums.com

# members at end of period - # of members at start of period# of members at start of period

Growth =

VanillaForums.com

• IE: If you had 500 members at start of month, and ended with 450, your churn rate would be (450-500)/500 = -10% (aka 10% churn)

• IE: If you had 550 members at the end, then (550-500)/500 = 10% (aka 10% growth)

VanillaForums.com

Tracking Repeat Activity

# or % of members who have taken X actions in the last 30 days

VanillaForums.com

Only Metric That Matters (OMTM): A metric that you’re confident will improve the quality of your members’ experience.

VanillaForums.com

→Medium: total time reading (TTR)→Facebook: 7 friends within 10 days of signing up→Twitter: visiting at least 7 times a month→Linkedin: profile views→CMX: posts with at least 3 responses

Only Metric That Matters

VanillaForums.com

Track to Optimize

TimeFrame

Content and Experience Changes Made

Growth/ Churn

Repeat Activity (posted 3+ times in last 30 days)

OMTM (7friends within 10 days)

Month 1 Added auto welcome email

10% 5% 7%

Month 2 Personally emailed new members

-3% 14% 12%

Month 3 Recommended friends to follow

7% 16% 14%

VanillaForums.com

Community Measurement Strategy

Community Health

BusinessObjectives

Revenue

VanillaForums.com

Measuring Community Impact on Business Objectives

1. Identify the action that’s driving value (“the valuable action”)

2. Measure frequency and quality of that action

3. Optimize to drive quality action

VanillaForums.com

Identify the Valuable Action Using the SPACE Model

S upport Answers to questions

P roduct Ideas and feedback shared

A cquisition Referrals and signups

C ontent Content contributed

E ngagement Advocates created

VanillaForums.com

Measure Frequency and Quality

Action Frequency Measure of Quality

Answers to questions

Number of answers postedper question

Was the problem solved?

Ideas and feedback shared

Number of ideas posted per month

Was the idea actually used in the product?

Referrals and signups Number of signups per week Do the signups actually use the product?

Content contributed Number of articles submitted per month

Are the articles actually approved for publication?

Advocates created Number of members who mention brand in community

Are the mentionspositive?

VanillaForums.com

Community Measurement Strategy

Community Health

BusinessObjectives

Revenue

VanillaForums.com

Community Members Create Business Value in Two Ways:

1. Value of Member: the members themselves become more valuable

2. Value of Member Actions: The members take actions that result in driving business value

VanillaForums.com

Increased Value of Member + Value of Member Actions - Cost

ROI =

VanillaForums.com

Measuring the Value of a Member (good for getting buy-in)

Compare a segment of engaged community members to a segment of the average customer• Ie. LTV, Repeat purchases, $

spent, % converted to sales

VanillaForums.com

“Members of Dell Ideastorm spend about 50% more than the average customer”

- Bill Johnston

VanillaForums.com

“The average value of an idea on Ideastorm is $10,000, and the total revenue from Dell’s Ideastorm is in the $100’s Millions” - Bill Johnston

VanillaForums.com

How Much is the “Valuable Action” Worth?

Action Revenue Answers to question $ saved per answered questionIdeas and feedback shared $ value of an ideaReferrals and signups $ value of a signupContent contributed $ value of an articleAdvocates created $ value of an advocate

VanillaForums.com

Increased Value of Member + Value of Member Actions - Cost

ROI =

VanillaForums.com

Community Measurement Strategy

Community Health

BusinessObjectives

Revenue

VanillaForums.com

Keep Learning with CMX→CMX Training: The Fundamentals of Community Strategy→CMX Summit East: May 18-19

[email protected]

Connect on twitter: @cmx @davidspinksVanillaForums.com

What does Vanilla Forums do?

Helping organizations of all sizes:

üEngage customersüDrive loyaltyüEmpower advocates üReduce support costsüIncrease collaboration

VanillaForums.com

Vanilla for business powers over 200 million interactions

monthly

VanillaForums.com

For thousands of beloved brands

VanillaForums.com

Questions?

Questions?VanillaForums.com