Advanced Social Media for Authors - Writer's Digest 2014

Download Advanced Social Media for Authors - Writer's Digest 2014

Post on 13-Sep-2014

733 views

Category:

Business

8 download

DESCRIPTION

This is the slide deck from my August 2014 Presentation on "Advanced Social Media for Authors" at Writer's Digest. It includes elements of best practices for maintaining a successful social media strategy, as well as a solid round-up of tools and resources.

TRANSCRIPT

  • ADVANCED SOCIAL MEDIA FOR AUTHORSWhat Works, What Doesnt, And How to Manage It All

    Kristen McLean

    Writers Digest 2014

  • Kristen McLean

    Founder & CEO, Bookigee

    HELLO!

  • MYTH #1

    You HAVE to be using (EVERY)

    Social Media Platform

  • MYTH #2

    Growing your social media following will

    bring you FAME

  • MYTH #3

    A BIG Social Media following will SELL

    more books

  • WHAT SOCIAL MEDIA IS

    Social Media is a set of TOOLS to accomplish a GOAL that starts with a

    STRATEGY

  • THE KEY TO SUCCESS

    AUTHENTICITY

  • WHAT SOCIAL DOES

    BEST #1

    Facilitate 1-to-1 Communication

  • WHAT SOCIAL DOES

    BEST #2

    Amplify a message

  • SLOW & STEADY WINS

    THE RACE

    Be systematic, patient, and realistic

  • THE 5 PRACTICES

    Bulk Schedule outbound communications

    Create & regularly maintain Facebook/LinkedIn contact lists

    Create/maintain Twitter lists by genre/interest

    Participate in online chats in your area of expertise

    Schedule regular time to fill-up the tank

  • GET ORGANIZED

    The key to a successful and manageable social media strategy is good systems

  • PICK YOUR PLATFORMS

    Blog or Tumblr

    Facebook

    Twitter

    LinkedIn

    Instagram

    Pinterest

    Do you want a brand organizer also? Try Flavors.me

  • PICK A SCHEDULING TOOL

  • SETUP CONTACT LISTS IN FACEBOOK/LINKEDIN

  • SETUP THEMATIC TWITTER LISTS

  • PLAN SOME EVERGREEN POSTS

  • TRACK INTERESTINGNESS

  • 5 PRACTICES BY DAY

    MON - 20 min: schedule tweets/posts thru Friday

    TUES - 15 min: build Twitter lists| 5 min: add tweets

    WED - 15 min: confirm/groups new FB friends (+tweet)

    THURS - 15 min: participate in a live Twitter chat (+tweet)

    FRI- 20 min (or more): read 1 new article for curiosity

    EVERYDAY - be thankful

  • SLOW & STEADY WINS

    THE RACE

    Be systematic, patient, and realistic

  • TOOL

    SOCIAL MEDIA ANALYSIS !Mention - https://en.mention.com/ Use it to monitor & respond to all social media channels around a particular account or subject

    Followerwonk - https://followerwonk.com/ Search Twitter for users by theme & social authority

    Fanpage Karma - http://www.fanpagekarma.com/ Monitor or compare stats on an unlimited number of Facebook fan pages

    Round Team - https://roundteam.co/ Allows you to set filters to auto-RT content

    Twitonomy - http://www.twitonomy.com/

  • TOOL

    Tools For Building Twitter Tweepi - http://tweepi.com/dashboard Tweet Adder - http://www.tweetadder.com/ Automatic tools that build twitter followings fast (must be used carefully!) !Reading & Discovering New Stuff Currents - http://www.google.com/producer/currents FlipBoard - http://flipboard.com/ Zite - http://zite.com/ You MUST make regular time to read & find new material outside the stream !Email & Contact Management Mail Chimp - http://mailchimp.com/ Constant Contact - http://www.constantcontact.com/ Great off the shelf tools for managing contacts (and communication campaigns)

  • TOOL

    Collecting the Feedback & Numbers Google Alerts - http://www.google.com/alerts Topsy - http://topsy.com/ Peek Analytics - https://www.peekanalytics.com/ Facebook Insights - www.facebook.com/insights/ Nutshell Mail - https://nutshellmail.com/

    ! Organizing your Brand

    Flavors - http://flavors.me/ !

  • THANKS!

    !

    Kristen McLean

    @BKGKristen kristen@bookigee.com