iowa state horticultural society presents the all iowa horticulture exposition with support from...

Download Iowa State Horticultural Society presents the All Iowa Horticulture Exposition with support from Iowa State University Extension

Post on 14-Dec-2015




3 download

Embed Size (px)


  • Slide 1

Iowa State Horticultural Society presents the All Iowa Horticulture Exposition with support from Iowa State University Extension Slide 2 24 Organizations of the Iowa State Horticultural Society Federated Garden Clubs of Iowa Iowa Alliance of Environmental Affairs Iowa Arboretum Iowa Arborists Association Iowa Bonsai Association Iowa Christmas Trees Growers Association Iowa Fruit and Vegetables Association Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Association Iowa Wine Growers Association Iowa Honey Producers Association Iowa Horticulture Community Colleges Iowa Master Gardener Program Iowa Nursery and Landscape Association Iowa Nut Growers Association Iowa Professional Lawn Care Association Iowa Regional Lily Society Iowa Rose Society Iowa Sports Turf Managers Association Iowa Turfgrass Institute Iowa Woodland Owners Association Iowa State University Horticulture Club Mid-Am Region-The Gardeners of America Iowa Florists Association Iowa Irrigation Association Slide 3 All Iowa Horticulture Expo Sponsors Pace Supply Silver Sponsor Indian Hills C.C. Horticulture Bronze Sponsor TurfWerks/Davis Sun Turf Bronze Sponsor Vermeer Corporation Bronze Sponsor Golf and Sport Turf Service Bronze Sponsor John Deere/Ottumwa Works Bronze Sponsor Ahlers Consulting, Inc. Bronze Sponsor Slide 4 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Exhibitors Ahlers Consulting, Inc./Grow-Rite Solutions AJ's Copper Garden All-Terrain Seeding/D&D Landscaping Bowling Motors Butterfliz of Iowa Chamness Technology Carpenter Sales Incorporated Des Moines Botanical Center Dreamscapes by Huffman Landscaping Eldon C. Stutsman Inc. Federated Garden Clubs of Iowa Food Preservation Exhibit (ISU Extension) Golf & Sport Turf Service Growers Supply Slide 5 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Exhibitors Hometown Harvest of Southeast Iowa Indian Hills Comm. College Horticulture Dept. Iowa Arboretum Iowa Golf Course Superintendents Assn. Iowa Honey Producers Association Iowa Living Roadway Trust Fund Iowa Nut Grower's Association Iowa Rose Society Iowa Turfgrass Institute Iowa Woodland Owners Association Iowa State Horticultural Society ISU Extension-Wapello County Iowa State University Horticulture Club Keyser Winery Slide 6 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Exhibitors Men's Garden Club of Des Moines Miller Fencing-Ag Cam Ostranders Greenhouse Pace Supply Quilted Gardens & Nursery Rainbow Iris Farm/Gardens by Kelly Productions KBIZ/KISS/KRKN/KTWA Radio Southern Hills Winery Van Wall Turf & Irrigation Vermeer Corporation Wapello County SWCD Zimco Supply Company Soil Technologies Corporation Slide 7 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Local Steering Committee Lynn Schulte Sue Wasson Suzette Striegel Sue Henderson Lois Hunt Mayor Dale Uehling Jean Dell Jon Elbaum Kathy Speas Margie Stansberry Jeff Wendel, CGCS Neric Smith Kelly D. Norris Robert Dodds Mike Bevins Gary Twedt,CGCS Slide 8 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Volunteers Jean Dell Rose Schultz Jacque Hough Joyce Kramer Helen Cook Bobbie Hershey Juliene Kent Dan Kent Mary Kivlahan Jean Ann Ross Suzette Striegel Gary Phillips Lynn Schulte Sue Henderson Sue Wasson Angie House Mike Horan Patrick Rinkleff Gwen Twedt Pam White Dona Borowycz Carol Geib Peggy McFarland Thank you to ourWapello Country Master Gardeners for their service!!! Slide 9 All Iowa Horticulture Exposition Speakers and Topics Friday, April 3 10:00-11:00 Keynote Session: Why I Love to Garden- Elvin McDonald (Author of award winning books and Director of Iowa Botanical Center) 11:00-12:00 Room 1: Butterfly Habitat - Kathleen Ziemer Room 2: What Makes a Picture-Perfect Garden? Susan Appleget-Hurst (Editor of Better Homes & Garden) Room 3: Aronia Berries - Eldon Everhart, Ph.D. 12:30-1:30 Room 1: Current Tree Issues - Jeff Iles, Ph.D., Mark Vitosh, Robert Petrzelka Room 2: Childrens Gardening, Uganda - Lisa Wasko Room 3: Viticulture and Wine Panel - Dennis Portz, Steve Richardson, Randall Vos 2:00-3:00 Room 1: Edible Landscaping - Patrick OMalley, Ph.D. Room 2: Organic Lawn Care - Nick Christians, Ph.D. Room 3: Sustainability in the Home Garden - Andy Larson 3:30-4:30 Room 1: Rain Gardens - Bob Quinn of WHO radio Room 2: Forty in a Flash Susan - Appleget-Hurst Room 3: Gardening is Good for You - Cindy Haynes,Ph.D. Saturday, April 4 11:00-12:00 Room 1: Beekeeping and Apiary Issues - Andy Joseph Room 2: Trough Gardening - Gary Whittenbaugh Room 3: Small-scale Farming - Andy Larson 12:30-1:30 Room 1: Low-Cost Hoop Houses - Doug Webster Room 2: Passion between Two Rivers - Kelly D. Norris Room 3: Slow Food Movement - Treva Reimer 2:00-3:00 Room 1: Seasonal Favorites from BH&G - Sandra Gerdes Room 2: Gardening with Conifers - Gary Whittenbaugh Room 3: Organic Gardening - Kathleen Delate, Ph.D. 3:30-4:30 Room 1: Growing Prize Winning Roses - Gary Osborn Room 2: Growing Bearded Irises - Kelly D. Norris Room 3: Heirloom Tomatoes - Stan & Susan Gilland Trade Show hours Friday April 3 - 10:00 A.M to 7:00 P.M. Saturday April 4 - 9:00 A.M. to 6:00 P.M. (Walk in registration starting at 9:00 A.M.) Thank you to all our speakers for this event!!!! Slide 10 Iowa State Horticultural Society Executive Committee Board President - Gary Twedt,CGCS Secretary/Treasurer Mike Bevins Past President Barbara Sylvester Kelly D. Norris Neric Smith Robert Dodds Jeff Wendel,CGCS Dr. Eldon Everhart Doug Struyk, J.D. Slide 11 ISHS Promotion and Publicity Promotion/Publicity/Education Committee Kelly D. Norris (Education Chair) Barb Osborn (Scholarship Chair) Linda Naeve (Awards Chair) Barbara Sylvester Gary Twedt Dr. Eldon Everhart Sandy Gossman Naomi Maahs Neric Smith Robert Dodds Slide 12 2009 ISHS Award Winners (Awarded April 3, 2009 at the Bridge View Center in Ottumwa, IA.) ISHS Honor Award Dr. Donald R. Lewis Dr. Nick Christians ISHS Merit Award Dr. Gail Nonnecke Peggy Moody Gary Twedt,CGCS President Citation Award Kelly D. Norris Neric D. Smith Wapello County Master Gardeners Wapello County Iowa State University Ext. Slide 13 ISHS Scholarship Winners Amanda Snodgrass Karie Vrba Kevin Hansen Emma Caven Congratulations Iowa State University Students!!!!!