India in Sports 2012 (Current Affairs)

Download India in Sports 2012 (Current Affairs)

Post on 18-Jul-2016




0 download

Embed Size (px)




  • 02/12/2012Topic : Indian sports (Current affairs)


    Summer olympics -4 bronze,2 silver83 participantsFlag bearer-Sushil kumar

    Paralympics-10 participants1 silver-Girisha Nagarajegowda in mens high jump

    ----Gagan Narang wins the bronze medal in Men's 10m air rifle at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.

    ----Vijay Kumar wins the silver medal in 25m Men's rapid fire pistol at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.

    ----Saina Nehwal wins the bronze medal in Women's badminton singles at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London after her opposition Wang Xin retired from the bronze medal match. Wang Xin was leading by 21-18, 1-0.

    ----Mary Kom wins the bronze medal in Women's boxing flyweight at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.

    ----Yogeshwar Dutt wins the bronze medal in Men's 60 kg freestyle wrestling at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.

    ----Sushil Kumar wins the silver medal in Men's 66 kg freestyle wrestling at the 2012 Summer Olympics, London.

    ---------------***--------------- ---------------***---------------

    1.India's number one snooker player Aditya Mehta recently won the Asian Snooker Championship.Who among the following was beaten by him to clinch the title?a) Pankaj Advanib) Kim Changc) Roka Mond) Mohammad Sherans-a

    2.Leander Paes on March 31, 2012 cliched his 50 career title at Maimi opens.Paes won the doubles title with which of the following players?1) Redek Stepanek2) Max Mirnyi3) Daniel Nestor

  • 4) Mahesh Bhupathi.ans-a

    3.Top Indian Squash Player saurav Ghosal on April 9,2012 notched up a hard fought 3-2 victory over which player of England at the $ 120,000 Elgouna International open in El Gouna,Egypt?a) Robbie Templeb) Marvin Trumpc) Christopher Donaldd) Patric Allenans-a

    4.Name the owner of Delhi franchise of hockey India(a) Tata Group(b) Wave Group(c) Bharti Group(d) Aircel and RelianceAnswer: (b) Wave Group

    5.Name the person who has been appointed as full time president of Hockey India.(a) Gayatri Shetty(b) Mariamma koshy(c) Bachendri Pal(d) Dilip TirkiAnswer: (b) Mariamma koshy

    6.Name the BJP MLA who was elected as the President of Indian Boxing Federation on 23 September 2012.(a) Abhishek Matoria(b) Ashok Gehlot(c) Mahesh Joshi(d) Sachin PilotAnswer: (a) Abhishek Matoria

    7.Women SAF football championship 2012 was won by which country?(a) Nepal(b) Bhutan(c) China(d) IndiaAnswer: (d) India

    8.To which game is Davis Cup related? 1.Lawn Tennis 2.Hockey 3.Handball 4.Cricketans-1

    9.Which of the following trophies is NOT associated with cricket? 1.Thomas Cup 2.Rohinton Baria Trophy 3.Duleep Trophy 4.Charminar Challenge Cup

  • ans-1

    10.Cannon, Cue and Pot' are three terms associated with: 1.Golf Only 2.Billiards only 3.Billiards, Golf and Shooting 4.Both Billiards and Golfans-4

    11.No. of players in a team of Water Poloa.8b.7c.6d.5ans-b

    12.Which of the following Trophies is related to the game of 'football'? a.Mumbai Gold cup b.Everest Cup c.Merdeka Cup d.V.C.C. Cupans-c

    13.The top sports award of India is a.Arjun Award b.Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna c.Dronacharya d.Padmashreeans: b

    14.Tintu Luka has carved a niche for herself in which sport :OA-Athletics.Shes from Kerala and is a student of PT Usha.She has carved a niche for herself in 800m race.

    Some Important points :

    ----Shiva Thapa is the youngest boxer who qualified for London Olympics.

    ----Richa Mishra became the first woman to clock the best Indian time in 800m freestyle. On 17 November 2011, she won three gold medals at the 65th National aquatic championships (meet) at the Veer Budhu Bhagat Stadium. She became the first to win three gold medals of the meet and set two senior championship marks (800m & 200m freestyle).

    ----Shiva Keshavan is the 1st Indian representative in winter sport of 'Luge' in winter Olympics

    ----Asian Billiards Championship 2012 is won by Pankaj Advani.

    ----Vishwanathan Anand is the 1st Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award winner.

  • ----Geeta Phogat is a female wrestler from India who won India's first ever gold medal in women's wrestling in the 55 kg freestyle category at the 2010 Commonwealth Games