how do you build a world changing brand?

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How do you build a world changing brand?

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How do you build a world changing brand?

Hello!I am Sean O’ConnorYou can find me at @aseoconnor or at SeanOConn.org

Marketing manager for the dig ed group

● Designed strategy for new product launch

First employee and head of product at Mentored.com

● Designed and built 2 products

● Signed up 60k users

● Sold 4 b2b clients

Worked with Seth Godin to design and launch Krpyton.cc

● Built out 10 classes

● Enrolled 20k users● Shut the project

down

What have I done?

(aka why should you listen to me)

“ Marketing is no longer about the stuff that you make, but about the stories you tell.— Seth Godin

1Who’s It For?Who are you building

your product for?

Need vs. Want

Marketers are in the wants business

● Delight○ Can we make something that delights you?

● Fear○ Can we create fear that if you don’t buy this

you will regret it

What kind of emotions

connect to people?

● Attention○ The most scarce resource around

● Trust○ Why should I believe you?

Why will they listen?

2What are you

changing?Who are you building

your product for?

● Great companies and non profits cause their customers to change

Who are you changing

(and how)?

How does Tom’s change

it’s customers?

3Permission to

AlertMarketing is a

privilege, not a right

● Once you’ve changed someone how do you build the privilege (permission) to deliver your message to them?○ Anticipated, Personal, Relevant

Permission Marketing

● Amazon○ Has the trust necessary to

keep your CC on file, to suggest products to you, etc.

● Cards Against Humanity○ Launching successful product

after successful product

Examples of Trust

4Why will people

talk about it?Remarkable

products spread

● Share○ Instead of relying on paid media

to yell at people build something that people talk about

● Warby Parker○ When you buy a pair they give a

pair■ That’s the story, the emotion

Stories that spread

Stories that spread

5Action Theory of Marketing

How do you market in the connection economy?

● 1. Do you create an emotion?○ If you don’t create a product that

delights or leverages fear in the person who uses it, start over

● 2. Does that emotion change someone?○ Does it change them in a way

that moves them forward?

Action theory of

marketing

● 3. Do you earn the privilege to alert them?

● 4. Can you make it so that people will choose to share it?

● 5. Is there urgency or scarcity?

Action theory of

marketing

6Marketing Strategy

How are you driving customers?

Most marketing funnels are leaky.

1,000

500

100

5

Clicks on Ad

Views of Promo Video

Items Added to Shopping Cart

Items Purchased

What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)

1,000

500

100

5

Clicks on Ad

Views of Promo Video

Items Added to Shopping Cart

Items Purchased

What was my CPA? (Assume a $1 CPC)

1,000

500

100

5

$1 CPC $1,000 / $1000 = $1

$2 Cost Per View $1,000 / 500 = $2

$10 Cost Per Add to Cart $1,000 / 100 = $10

$200 Cost Per Purchase $1,000 / 5 = $200

7Project Prompt

Let’s apply these concepts

The Ready to Drink Coffee

Market is Booming

How can we capture a

portion of this market?

Americans spend $21.32/week on coffee. Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts control ~50% of the market. The Ready to Drink (RTD) coffee market is growing at 10% per year.How do we capture a portion of this?

Califia FarmsIn the five years since Califia farms launched they’ve been growing at over 100% YoY.

Receptive MarketOf the 76 percent of Americans not drinking cold brew coffees at home, one third (33 percent) say they have not tried but are interested in doing so

Demo Trends● Millennials

account for 55% of the market

● Men are a key demo

Competition

The Coldbrew

Market

StarbucksStarbucks sells coldbrew in all of their stores, but they do not yet sell it in bottles (like their other drinks)

Blue BottleBlue Bottle’s wholesale operations account for 20% of their revenues.

High Growth● 115% YoY growth● Accounts for 0.4%

of the RTD market● 24% of consumers

drink cold brew

Market Trends

Build a strategy brief

Questions to Answer● Who is the product for?● What emotions are you using? ● What story are you telling? ● How can we gain permission to

market to people?● Where will it be distributed? ● How much will it cost?● How will people hear about it?

Thanks!Any questions?You can find me at @aseoconnor, SeanOConn.org, & [email protected]

Go cause a ruckus.