four noble truths

Download Four Noble Truths

Post on 06-Jan-2016




2 download

Embed Size (px)


Four Noble Truths. By Henry Chu Temple Master. Introduction. Last week we visited the Eightfold Path so this week we will visit the other foundational Buddhist teaching, the Four Noble Truth - PowerPoint PPT Presentation


Four Noble Truth

Four Noble TruthsBy Henry ChuTemple Master

IntroductionLast week we visited the Eightfold Path so this week we will visit the other foundational Buddhist teaching, the Four Noble TruthThe Four Noble Truth is intimately connected to the Eightfold path because the Fourth Truth is the Eightfold PathTherefore the two teachings are essentially one

IntroductionThe Four Noble Truth are: Life is suffering (dukkha), Origin of Suffering, The Cessation of Suffering, and the Path Leading to Cessation of SufferingThe gist of Four Noble Truth is the understanding and the way to evade Suffering This is the foundational teaching--the advance teaching of Buddhism takes a different turn on the perspective of sufferingFour Noble TruthThe First TruthLife is sufferingBuddhas initial motivation to seek enlightenment is due to sufferingThe eight inevitable sufferings of life are:Birth--AgingSickness--DeathUnfulfilled desires--Overwhelming sensesSeparation of beloved--Gathering of hateful

Four Noble TruthThe First TruthLife is SufferingThe Buddhist perspective is that life is a suffering sea and that sufferings are inevitable part of lifeTherefore the evasion of the sufferings of life is the primary goal of Buddhist practitioner and that the subsequent works are gearing toward this goalFour Noble TruthThe Second TruthThe Origin of SufferingThere are many types of desires, all of which can lead to sufferingTypes of desires: Sensual desires--cravings (i.e. food, sleep, sex) Emotional desiresdesire for love, power, dominanceSpiritual desiresneed to exist (physical attachment) Desire arise out of ignorance Ignorance arise out of ego

Four Noble TruthThe Second TruthThe Origin of SufferingBy understand the origin of suffering, the practitioner gains a perspective on suffering and realize their pursue of desires are the root cause of their sufferingsWith the new found perspective, the practitioners can begin to reverse the cycle of suffering and transcend out of sufferingThe Four Noble TruthThe Third TruthThe Cessation of SufferingThe eradication of all desires is the way toward the cessation of sufferingWhen a person achieved the state of without desires, then the Nirvana experience will occur, by which the person will no longer get caught in the cycle of sufferingThe way to achieve the state without desire is the Fourth Truth

The Four Noble TruthThe Fourth Truththe Path toward the Cessation of SufferingThe Eightfold path is the path toward the cessation of sufferingThe Eightfold path are:Right perspective--Right thoughtRight speech--Right actionRight livelihood--Right endeavorRight mindfulness--Right meditationThe Four Noble TruthThe Advance PerspectiveThe Hinayana tradition (the small vehicle) is totally focused on the Four Noble Truth so their entire focus of practice is on the evasion of sufferings The Mahayana tradition (the great vehicle tradition) is less focus on the evasion of suffering, rather it focus on the expansion of the capacity to endure sufferingThe Bodhisattva way is the enduring of sufferings for others so they too can attain Nirvana

ConclusionThe Four Noble Truth (along with the Eightfold path) are the foundational teachings of Buddhism.The entire focus is on the evasion of suffering and the ways to achieve the state of non-suffering (or Nirvana)The Mahayana tradition expanded on the teaching to the embrace of sufferingsQuestion


View more >